Skip to main content
The HRT Index

What HRT Does Gwyneth Paltrow Take?

What HRT does Gwyneth Paltrow take? She has confirmed that she takes hormone therapy, but she has never publicly named the hormones, the dose, the form or the brand. She said so in an August 2024 goop newsletter Q&A and discussed hormone therapy again on her July 2025 podcast. Any specific prescription you read online is a guess.

So the short answer is "yes, she's on HRT, and no, nobody outside her doctor's office knows which one." The longer answer is more useful. Below is every dated statement we could trace, a list of the claims that don't hold up, and a plain guide to what HRT is made of. If you're here partly for yourself, that last part matters more than her prescription does.

This page is for you if you want the sourced facts, or you're wondering what HRT might look like in your own life.

This page is not a guess at her prescription, and it isn't a plan for you. Her plan was built by her doctors for her body.

The HRT Index is the independent decision resource for online menopause and HRT care — comparing telehealth providers on clinical legitimacy, care quality, medication fit, price transparency, and access, with every claim verified and dated, so women can choose the path that fits their situation before their first consult.

What we actually verified (October 2026)

  • We traced Gwyneth Paltrow's public statements about perimenopause, menopause and hormone therapy from 2018 through January 2026. We used her own platform's episode pages where we could, and dated press reports where we couldn't.
  • Her July 2025 podcast page has no official transcript. For that episode we rely on the show notes and an unverified third-party transcript, not a direct audio check.
  • We read Gala Health's public hormone-care pages on October 10, 2026. We did not sign up or receive care.
  • We did not see, and did not look for, anyone's private medical records. Nothing here comes from a leak or an unnamed insider.

Gwyneth Paltrow is not affiliated with The HRT Index, and nothing on this page suggests she uses or endorses any provider named here. We may earn a commission from the labeled Gala link further down. How we handle affiliate links.

What HRT does Gwyneth Paltrow take, according to her own words?

Gwyneth Paltrow has said she takes HRT, and that is where her public detail stops. Her clearest statement came in an August 2024 goop newsletter Q&A, where she said she had tried other routes first and now feels good about her "protocol." She has not named a hormone, a patch, a pill, a cream or a prescriber in any source we could trace.

Here is the record in date order. HRT stands for hormone replacement therapy. Doctors now often call it menopausal hormone therapy, or MHT. It means the same thing.

When Where she said it What she said (in our words) Did she say she takes HRT?
Fall 2018, age 46 goop video, reported by Woman & Home She was in perimenopause. She described sweating and sudden anger, and said menopause needed a "rebrand." goop launched a supplement called Madame Ovary. No
2020, age 47 Wellness interview, reported by Yahoo She took the Madame Ovary supplement most days and leaned on sleep, exercise, sauna and food. No
April 6, 2022 Fortune She was named as an investor in Evernow, a menopause telehealth company. She said the lack of guidance on menopause shocked her. No. Investing in a company is not being its patient.
2023, age 51 People interview, reported by wire services She was "in the thick" of perimenopause and focused on gut and liver health. She called HRT and supplements both good options for women. She named HRT as an option. She did not say she took it.
August 2024 goop newsletter Q&A, reported by Flow Space, Hotflash Inc and HELLO! Asked if she takes HRT, she said yes. She said the other routes weren't "worth the suffering" and that after her own research and talks with doctors she feels good about her protocol. Yes. This is the first clear confirmation.
March 4, 2025, age 52 The goop Podcast with Dr. Mary Claire Haver, reported by People She described insomnia and anxiety, and said drinking nightly during the Los Angeles wildfires made her symptoms worse. She discussed hormone therapy in general. No regimen was reported.
July 22, 2025 The goop Podcast, "You Asked, Gwyneth Answered" A listener-question episode. The show notes list hormone therapy and menopause among the topics. A third-party transcript attributes another HRT confirmation to her; the original audio has not been independently checked here. Yes, per a third-party transcript. No product named.
January 2026 Good Hang with Amy Poehler, reported by The Daily Beast Asked about bone density, she said she'd talk to a doctor about estrogen, lift heavy weights and eat plenty of protein. Not about her own prescription.

Read top to bottom, that table tells a story a lot of women will know. First come supplements and lifestyle. Then comes a few years of trying to work around it. Then comes "I tried other routes, and it wasn't worth it." That arc is the relatable part. The prescription is the private part.

One correction while we're here. Some pages still say she has "not publicly confirmed" using hormone therapy. That was true through 2023. It has been out of date since August 2024.

What has she not said about her HRT?

She has not said which hormones she takes, how she takes them, how much, which brand, or who prescribes them. Every one of those details is missing from the public record as of October 2026. Pages that fill in those blanks are guessing, or selling something.

Use this as a claim checker. If you read one of these elsewhere, here is where the evidence stands.

Claim you may have read Where the evidence stands What that means
She takes HRT Confirmed by her, August 2024, and again per reports in July 2025 True
She takes estradiol or another specific estrogen Not stated Can't be attributed to her
She takes progesterone Not stated as part of her plan Can't be attributed to her
She takes testosterone Not stated. We found no source in her own words Can't be attributed to her
She uses a patch, pill, gel, cream or pellet Not stated No delivery method is known
Her HRT is "bioidentical" Asserted by at least one company blog with no named source Not established
Her HRT is custom-compounded Not stated Not established
She uses estrogen face cream Reports of the July 2025 episode say she said she was not using one then, and was reading up on it Don't assume she does
Evernow is her provider She invested in Evernow in 2022. She has not said she is a patient Not established
Madame Ovary is her HRT Goop marketed it as a dietary supplement False. A supplement is not HRT

That "bioidentical" row deserves a closer look, because it's the claim you're most likely to run into. A January 2026 article on a hormone company's blog says Paltrow "now uses bioidentical HRT" as the center of her routine. The article doesn't name an interview, episode or date for that. The company sells its own hormone cream. We're not saying the claim is wrong. We're saying nobody has shown it's right.

Which hormones is Gwyneth Paltrow on: estrogen, progesterone or testosterone?

Nobody outside her care team knows, because she hasn't said. She used the word "protocol," which hints at a plan with more than one part, but that is a reading of one word and not a fact. We won't guess, and you shouldn't trust a page that does.

She has mentioned individual hormones in passing. None of those mentions is a statement of what's in her medicine cabinet.

  • Progesterone. One report of her March 2025 episode has her describing sleepless nights and wondering aloud whether low progesterone was the cause. That's a woman thinking through her symptoms. It isn't a prescription.
  • Estrogen and bones. In January 2026 she said she'd talk to a doctor about estrogen when asked a quick question about bone density. That was general advice in a speed round.
  • Estrogen face cream. Reports of her July 2025 episode say she was not using one at the time. Even if she were, a face cream tells you nothing about hot-flash treatment. A skin cream, a body patch and a vaginal cream are three different things with three different jobs.

Here's why her exact plan wouldn't help you much even if she posted the label tomorrow. The hormones a clinician picks depend on things like these:

  • Whether you still have your uterus
  • Which symptoms bother you most
  • Your age and how long it has been since your last period
  • Your health history and your family's
  • What you've already tried

Two women the same age can leave the same office with very different plans. Hers was built around her answers. Yours would be built around yours.

A quick word on testosterone, since so many readers ask. In the United States there is no FDA-approved testosterone product made for women. When a clinician prescribes it for a woman, that use is "off-label," which means it's legal but outside what the FDA approved the product for. An international expert statement in 2019 found the only use backed by good evidence is low sexual desire that causes distress after menopause. Testosterone is also a Schedule III controlled drug, so it always needs a prescription. We cover it fully in our guide to testosterone for menopause.

So her protocol was built for her. The right online menopause care isn't the same for every woman — it depends on your symptoms, what you've already tried, your age, your state and your health history. Some situations belong with an in-person clinician first. Use The HRT Index's Find My HRT Path tool to explore a featured care option for your situation — and to flag when online care isn't the right starting point — before your first consult.

It's free, takes about 60 seconds, and doesn't ask for your email.

An open notebook with a simple timeline sketch, glasses, and a pen on a sunlit desk.
Editorial still life; it does not depict Gwyneth Paltrow or suggest an endorsement.

Is goop's Madame Ovary the same thing as HRT? And what about Evernow?

No. Madame Ovary is a dietary supplement made of herbs and vitamins that goop marketed. HRT is prescription medicine that contains hormones. Evernow is a menopause telehealth company Paltrow put money into in 2022, and she has not said she gets her own care there.

These three get mixed up all the time, so here they are side by side.

What it is Needs a prescription? Her link to it
Madame Ovary A dietary supplement goop marketed No She said in 2020 that she took it most days
HRT Prescription estrogen, usually with a progestogen if you have a uterus Yes She said in 2024 that she takes it
Evernow A telehealth company that offers menopause care Its clinicians prescribe She invested in 2022

A supplement is sold without a prescription. The FDA does not review supplements to confirm they treat menopause symptoms before they go on sale. HRT is different. An FDA-approved hormone product has been reviewed for safety, effectiveness and quality controls intended to keep its dose consistent.

Paltrow's own words point to the gap between the two. She took the supplement for years. In 2024 she said the other routes weren't worth the suffering. That's her experience, and it's a common one. It isn't proof of what will work for you. If you want to know which supplements have real studies behind them, see our guide to menopause supplements with evidence. For the company itself, see our Evernow review.

Does "celebrity HRT" mean special bioidentical or compounded hormones?

Not necessarily. "Bioidentical" only means a hormone has the same structure as the one your body makes. Many ordinary, FDA-approved products are bioidentical, including common estradiol patches and micronized progesterone capsules. Paltrow has not said whether her HRT is FDA-approved or custom-made.

Three words cause most of the confusion. They answer three different questions.

  • Bioidentical answers: is this the same molecule my body makes? It's a description. It isn't a quality stamp.
  • FDA-approved answers: has the FDA reviewed this finished product? That review covers safety, whether it works, and manufacturing controls for consistent strength and quality.
  • Compounded answers: was this mixed by a pharmacy for one patient? Compounding can fill a real need, such as an allergy to an ingredient or a dose nobody sells. The finished product is not FDA-approved, even when its ingredients are familiar.

So a hormone can be bioidentical and FDA-approved. It can also be bioidentical and compounded. The word "bioidentical" on a website tells you nothing about which one you'd get.

The Menopause Society says custom-compounded hormones have not been shown to be safer or to work better than approved ones, and that their doses can be less exact. ACOG, the main U.S. group for OB-GYNs, says compounded hormones should not be the routine choice when an approved product fits. The FDA explains what compounded drugs do and don't go through.

The practical takeaway is one question. Whoever prescribes for you, ask: "What is the exact product, and is it FDA-approved?" A good clinician will answer in one sentence. Our guides to bioidentical vs. compounded HRT and FDA-approved bioidentical hormones go deeper.

What types of HRT could a clinician actually prescribe?

HRT is not one product. It's a small set of building blocks that a clinician combines based on your symptoms, whether you have a uterus, and your health history. The same woman might need one block, or two, or none.

This table is education. It is not Paltrow's plan and it is not yours.

Building block What it's mainly for Common forms Is there an FDA-approved version? The question to ask
Systemic estradiol (estrogen that travels through your whole body) Hot flashes, night sweats, sleep trouble tied to them Patch, pill, gel, spray Yes "Why this form for me, and not another?"
Progesterone or another progestogen Protects the lining of the uterus when you take systemic estrogen and still have a uterus Capsule, combined patches or pills; some hormonal IUDs used off-label for HRT protection Yes for certain products; IUD use for HRT protection is off-label in the U.S. "How is my uterine lining being protected?"
Low-dose vaginal estrogen Dryness, painful sex, some bladder symptoms Cream, tablet, insert, ring Yes "Is this local only, or will it treat hot flashes too?"
Testosterone Sometimes used off-label for low desire after menopause Compounded cream, or a small part of a product made for men No product approved for women in the U.S. "What's the evidence, and how will you monitor me?"
Non-hormonal prescription medicine Hot flashes when hormones aren't right for you or you don't want them Pills such as fezolinetant (Veozah) or elinzanetant (Lynkuet) Yes "Which one fits my symptoms and history?"
Custom-compounded hormones A need no approved product meets Creams, capsules, troches, pellets No "Why can't an approved product do this job?"

Two ideas in that table trip people up.

Systemic versus local. Systemic estrogen goes through your bloodstream, so it can calm hot flashes anywhere in the body. Low-dose vaginal estrogen works mostly where you put it. The Menopause Society notes that very little of it reaches the bloodstream, which is why it doesn't treat hot flashes. Our vaginal vs. systemic estrogen guide lays this out.

The uterus rule. If you still have your uterus and you take systemic estrogen, you also need a progestogen. Estrogen alone can thicken the lining of the uterus, and that raises the risk of cancer there. If you've had a hysterectomy, you can often take estrogen alone. More in do you need progesterone if you have a uterus.

Three made-up examples that show why plans differ

These are invented to teach the idea. They are not medical advice, and no real person is described.

Example 1: mostly vaginal dryness. A woman of 58 has no hot flashes, but sex has become painful. The useful question for her clinician is about local treatment, not a full-body patch. She may never need systemic HRT at all.

Example 2: hot flashes and wrecked sleep. A woman of 50 wakes up drenched four nights a week. She still has her uterus. The conversation is likely to be about systemic estrogen, and it has to include how her uterine lining will be protected.

Example 3: bleeding nobody has explained. A woman of 53 hasn't had a period in two years and has started spotting. Her first step isn't HRT and it isn't an online form. It's an in-person visit to find out why she's bleeding.

Three women, three different first steps. None of them is helped by knowing what a celebrity takes. For the full menu, see types of HRT and what kind of HRT is used in perimenopause.

What can HRT do, and what are its limits?

HRT is the most effective treatment for hot flashes and night sweats, and it treats vaginal dryness. It is not an anti-aging treatment or a weight-loss drug. Whether it's a good idea depends on your own history, and for some women it isn't.

Celebrity coverage tends to blur this. Stories about HRT sit next to stories about skin, energy and "aging well," and it starts to sound like one magic fix. Here's the plainer version.

What it's well established for. The Menopause Society describes hormone therapy as the most effective treatment for hot flashes. It's also used for night sweats, the sleep trouble that comes with them, and vaginal and bladder symptoms. It helps protect bone.

When the balance tends to be best. The same group says experts generally agree it helps most when started within 10 years of your last period or before age 60, with benefits and risks weighed for each woman.

What it isn't. It is not approved to slow aging, to make skin look younger, or to cause weight loss. Some women do sleep and feel better on it, and that can make everything else easier. That's a side benefit, not a promise.

Who should usually avoid it or start with an in-person clinician. The Menopause Society lists breast cancer, uterine cancer, unexplained bleeding, liver disease, a history of blood clots, and heart or blood-vessel disease. Our page on who should not take HRT covers each one.

Did the FDA say HRT has no risks now?

No. On November 10, 2025, federal health officials announced they would remove most of the old "boxed warning" from menopause hormone products. On February 12, 2026, the FDA approved the first six updated labels. The lines taken out of the box were about heart disease, breast cancer and probable dementia.

That changed where some warnings sit and how strongly they're worded. The FDA says heart-disease and breast-cancer warnings remain elsewhere in the labels for systemic products, while the probable-dementia warning was removed from the labeling. The boxed warning about cancer of the uterine lining stays on systemic estrogen-only products. That's the uterus rule again.

One more point. The label change applies to FDA-approved products. A compounded hormone doesn't become FDA-approved because its ingredient is in an approved drug. We explain the change in what the FDA label change means.

Can you get the same kind of HRT Gwyneth Paltrow takes?

You can't copy her prescription, because it isn't public and it was written for her. But standard HRT is not a celebrity product. Estradiol and progesterone are common prescriptions that a regular doctor or a licensed online clinician can prescribe when they're right for you.

What Paltrow said she had was time and access. She talked about doing a lot of research and speaking with many doctors. Most of us can't do that. What you can match is the part that counts: one clinician who reads your history, explains the options, and tells you exactly what you're taking.

There are three real ways in.

  1. Your own doctor or OB-GYN. Often the lowest cost if you have insurance, because both the visit and the pharmacy can run through your plan. If you're not sure how to bring it up, see how to ask your doctor for HRT.
  2. An online clinic that bills insurance. Midi Health is one example. It works best when it's in-network for your plan.
  3. A cash-pay online provider. Some charge one monthly price that bundles the clinician and medicine; others charge for visits and medication separately. Check the full cost before you pay.

Before any of them, a candid limit. An online form is not the right first stop for everyone. If you have bleeding nobody has explained, a history of breast cancer, a past blood clot, stroke or heart attack, or you might be pregnant, start with a clinician who can see you in person.

If you want a cash-pay online start: Gala Health

If you're 40 or older, paying cash, and you already know you'd like a licensed clinician to review you for standard estradiol and progesterone, Gala is the online option we feature first. Its HRT pages list clinician review, estradiol pills or patches, progesterone and ongoing messaging in a cash-pay bundle, though your exact prescription and checkout price still need confirming.

What we actually verified about Gala (checked October 10, 2026)

From Gala's public hormone-care pages:

  • What it lists: estradiol as a pill or a patch, progesterone, vaginal estradiol as a cream or tablet, and non-hormonal options.
  • Medication status: Gala states that it prescribes FDA-approved bioidentical forms. That is Gala's statement. We have not confirmed the exact product or maker you would receive, so ask.
  • How care works: a short online assessment, then review by a U.S.-licensed clinician who prescribes only if it's appropriate. Gala says messaging and dose changes are included for as long as you're treated.
  • Payment: cash-pay. Gala says it does not take insurance and does accept FSA and HSA cards. It says the monthly price covers the medicine, the clinician's review and ongoing care, and that shipping is free.
  • Labs: Gala says routine hormone blood tests usually aren't needed.
  • Not listed: testosterone.
  • Advertised HRT price: Gala's HRT-specific page says from $69/month, with no separate membership fee advertised. This is not a verified price for every medication or delivery form. Gala has also said pricing varies by treatment path; the amount due today, exact renewal schedule, and any extra charges still need confirmation at HRT checkout.
  • Cancellation and refunds: Gala's HRT page says "cancel anytime." Its general subscription policy requires cancellation at least 72 hours before the next billing date and generally does not refund canceled subscriptions except for medical disqualification. That policy also discusses weight-loss services, so confirm these exact terms apply to the HRT plan you're offered.

We reviewed Gala's published pages only. We did not enroll or receive care, so we can't speak to what the visit feels like.

One Gala patient quoted on Gala's own page, Allison, 51, says: "Gala's provider walked me through the options." That quote is published by Gala. We haven't verified it, and one person's experience doesn't tell you what yours would be.

Sponsored link. We may earn a commission if you start care through it. A Gala clinician decides whether any treatment is right for you, and a prescription is never guaranteed.

When something else fits better

Gala isn't the answer for everyone, and it would be a disservice to pretend it is.

If this is you A better place to start
You want insurance to pay for the visit Your own in-network doctor, or check whether Midi takes your plan. See online HRT providers that accept insurance
You're 35 to 39 The HRT Index's Find My HRT Path tool, which features a different provider first for that age group
You want to see each medicine's price before any intake Compare menus in our best online HRT providers guide
You're interested in testosterone Our testosterone for menopause guide. Gala doesn't list it
You have one of the health flags above An in-person clinician, or The Menopause Society's practitioner directory
You have no symptoms and were only curious Nothing. You're done. Bookmark the perimenopause symptoms checklist for later

What would the first 90 days cost?

It depends on the route, and the honest way to compare is to add up every piece: the visit, the medicine, any labs, and shipping. A price that leaves out a required piece is incomplete. It isn't zero.

Route Care cost Medicine First 90 days Where the number comes from
Your own doctor with insurance Your plan's copay or deductible Your plan's pharmacy price Depends on your plan Your insurer
Midi Health, paying yourself $250 first visit; $150 per follow-up Separate, at your pharmacy $250 plus medicine if only an initial visit; $400 plus medicine if one follow-up falls within 90 days. Labs or further visits extra if required Midi's rates in our comparison, last checked August 31, 2026
Alloy, estradiol patch plus progesterone $49 one-time consult Patch $100/month, shipped and billed in 3-month orders ($300); progesterone from $23/month separately $49 + $300 + ($23 × 3) = about $418 for three months at these starting rates, before extras; patch's first order is $300, not $100 Alloy patch and progesterone product pages, checked October 10, 2026
Gala Health Advertises from $69/month, no separate membership fee Included if prescribed, per Gala; exact product and extras unverified $69 × 3 = $207 if three $69 monthly charges apply; NOT a confirmed 90-day total, amount due now, or medication-specific quote Gala HRT landing and subscription policy, checked October 10, 2026

Here's how to do the math yourself once you have a real quote. This is a made-up example and not any provider's price. Say a service charges $80 every 30 days and that covers everything. Three billing periods is $80 × 3 = $240. If labs or medicine cost extra, $240 is not your total. It's your starting point.

Before you pay anyone, get four answers: the amount due today, how often you'll be charged, what's included, and how to cancel. A "monthly" price is not proof of what you'll be charged at signup or during an exact 90-day window. Our HRT cost guide has the full breakdown.

How can you tell if menopause care is worth exploring for you?

You don't need HRT because a celebrity takes it. It's worth a conversation if you have symptoms that bother you, they're changing how you sleep, work or feel, and you'd like to know your options. Having that conversation commits you to nothing.

Here's a five-question check. It isn't a diagnosis. It just helps you see which door to walk through.

  1. What's bothering you most? Hot flashes and night sweats point one way. Dryness or painful sex points another. "I'm not sure, I just feel off" is a fair answer too.
  2. What have you already tried? Supplements, sleep changes, cutting alcohol, an old prescription. A clinician will want to know.
  3. How old are you, and what are your periods doing? Regular, skipping, or stopped for a year or more.
  4. How do you want to pay? Insurance, or cash for speed and simplicity.
  5. Is there anything in your health history a clinician should see first? Unexplained bleeding, breast or uterine cancer, blood clots, stroke, heart attack, liver disease, or a possible pregnancy.

How your answers steer you:

  • If you said yes to anything in question 5, start in person. That's the safe first step, and it doesn't shut any doors.
  • If you're clear on questions 1 through 4 and ready, go to your own doctor or a provider that fits how you want to pay.
  • If you're unsure about any of them, that's exactly what The HRT Index's Find My HRT Path tool is for. It asks about the same five things: your symptoms, what you've tried, your age, your state and your health history. Then it shows a featured online care option for your situation, or tells you plainly when online care isn't the right place to start. It doesn't diagnose you, and it doesn't decide whether you should take hormones. A clinician does that.

Your answers stay in your browser. They aren't sent to us. How the tool works.

What should you ask a clinician before starting any HRT?

Ask what they'd suggest, why, exactly what the product is, and what it will cost. A good first visit leaves you knowing which symptom is being treated, what you're taking, and when you'll check in again. If you leave confused, that tells you something about the provider.

Take these eight questions with you. Screenshot them if that's easier.

  1. Based on my symptoms, is hormone therapy a reasonable option for me?
  2. Which form would you start with, and why that one?
  3. What is the exact product? Is it FDA-approved or compounded?
  4. Is this treating my whole body or one area?
  5. I have (or don't have) a uterus. How does that change the plan?
  6. Is there anything in my history that makes this riskier for me? What are my other options?
  7. What will I pay today, and what will I pay each month after that? Are labs extra?
  8. When do we check in, how do I reach you if something feels wrong, and how do I cancel?

Question 3 is the one most women skip. It's also the one that would have settled every rumor about Paltrow's plan, if anyone could ask her doctor. You can ask yours.

For more on the first visit, see what to expect at your first menopause telehealth appointment.

Which other celebrities have talked about HRT, and how much do they share?

Several well-known women have said they use hormone therapy, and most share about as little detail as Paltrow does. A few have named one hormone. Almost none have named a product or dose.

Who What she has said publicly Named a specific hormone or product?
Gwyneth Paltrow Takes HRT and feels good about her protocol (goop newsletter, 2024) No
Kate Winslet Takes testosterone as part of managing perimenopause (Failing with Friends podcast) Testosterone. No product named
Michelle Obama Her doctor suggested hormone therapy for hot flashes and it helped (her podcast) No
Naomi Watts Learned she was nearing menopause at 36; later said she had used HRT for more than a decade (Let's Talk Menopause podcast, 2024) No
Oprah Winfrey Said she began taking bioidentical estrogen after getting advice for menopause symptoms (Oprah Daily, 2022) Estrogen, but no product named

Kate Winslet and Michelle Obama are reported by HELLO!, November 25, 2024. Naomi Watts's row is from her own 2024 interview transcript; Oprah's is from Oprah Daily's 2022 report.

Look at the right-hand column. That's the pattern. These women are saying "I got help, and you can too." They aren't handing out a shopping list. That's a healthy way to read all of it, Paltrow included.

Frequently asked questions about Gwyneth Paltrow and HRT

Does Gwyneth Paltrow take HRT?

Yes. She confirmed it in a goop newsletter Q&A in August 2024, saying she'd tried other routes first.

Does Gwyneth Paltrow take estrogen or progesterone?

She hasn't said. Most HRT plans include estrogen, and women with a uterus usually take a progestogen with it, but she has not described what's in hers.

Does Gwyneth Paltrow take testosterone?

She hasn't said so in any source we could trace. Kate Winslet has said she does. The two are sometimes mixed up in roundup articles.

Does Gwyneth Paltrow use an estrogen patch or an estrogen face cream?

She hasn't named a patch or any other form. Reports of her July 2025 podcast say she was not using an estrogen face cream at that time and was looking into it.

Is Gwyneth Paltrow in menopause or perimenopause?

She described herself as in perimenopause from 2018 through 2023. On her March 2025 podcast she said she felt she'd been "in it for years." She hasn't given a date for her last period that we could find. Menopause is the point 12 months after your final period. Perimenopause is the stretch of changing hormones before it. More in perimenopause vs. menopause.

Did Gwyneth Paltrow start a menopause company?

No. She invested in Evernow in 2022, and her company goop marketed a menopause supplement. Neither tells you what she's prescribed.

Can you take HRT during perimenopause?

Often, yes. Many women start while their periods are still coming, because that's when symptoms can be worst. A clinician decides based on your symptoms and history. See when to start HRT in perimenopause.

Is HRT safe?

For many healthy women under 60, or within 10 years of their last period, medical groups say the benefits often outweigh the risks. It isn't right for everyone, and your own history decides. Our HRT benefits and risks page walks through it.

Where can I talk to someone about HRT?

Your own doctor or OB-GYN is a good first call. The Menopause Society has a directory of certified practitioners. If you'd like help picking an online option, The HRT Index's Find My HRT Path tool is free.

The bottom line: her HRT is hers, and your decision is yours

Gwyneth Paltrow takes HRT. She has said so more than once. She hasn't said which hormones, which form or which dose, and she doesn't owe anyone that. What she has shared is the part that travels: she tried to manage without it for years, it wasn't working, and she got help.

If you came here out of plain curiosity, you have your answer, and it's a complete one.

If you came here because some of this sounds like your own nights, you have a few good next steps. Call your own doctor. Take the eight questions with you. Or spend a minute on The HRT Index's Find My HRT Path tool and see which kind of care fits your symptoms, your age and your state. It will also tell you if online care isn't where you should start.

Free. About 60 seconds. No email needed.

How we researched this page

We read Gwyneth Paltrow's own episode pages on goop where they exist, and dated press reports of her interviews and newsletter where they don't. We put each statement in date order and left out anything we couldn't trace to her. Where a detail comes from a report of audio and not a transcript, we say so in the text.

For medical facts we used the FDA, The Menopause Society, ACOG and a published expert consensus statement. For Gala, we used Gala's own public pages and labeled its statements as its own.

We follow The HRT Index Verification Standard, which looks at five things in order: clinical legitimacy, care quality, medication fit, price transparency, and access. We don't give scores. Read our full methodology.

This page is editorial research. It has not been reviewed by a clinician, and it isn't medical advice. For decisions about starting, stopping or changing hormone therapy, talk with a licensed clinician who knows your history.

Sources

Gwyneth Paltrow's public statements (checked October 10, 2026)

Medical and regulatory

Provider pages