Skip to main content
The HRT IndexGet My HRT Match

Does the VA Cover HRT for Menopause?

HI
The HRT Index Editorial TeamIndependent women's health research
Last reviewed:
Editorial research — not medically reviewed by a clinician. Why this label

Last updated: · Last verified: · By The HRT Index Editorial Team. Educational research, not medical advice, and not reviewed by a clinician. See our medical review policy. Full disclosure.

Check your covered care path first

Organize your symptoms, enrollment status, medication route, and location before deciding whether to keep pushing through VA or pay privately.

Yes. The VA covers HRT for menopause for enrolled Veterans when a VA clinician determines it is appropriate. VA explicitly offers hormone patches, hormone pills, and vaginal estrogen. Your cost may be $0 or a tiered medication copay, and the exact product may require formulary approval. A blanket “VA doesn’t offer HRT” is wrong.

That’s the answer. Here’s what changes it:

  • You may pay $0. Priority group 1 has no medication copays, and other exemptions can apply because of service connection, income, disability rating, or special eligibility.
  • If you do owe medication copays, the amount is not automatically $5. Current VA records place several common estradiol and progesterone forms in Tier 2, which costs $8 for 1–30 days, $16 for 31–60 days, or $24 for 61–90 days. Tier 3 costs $11, $22, or $33. The calendar-year medication-copay cap is $700.
  • The exact dosage form matters. An estradiol patch, vaginal cream, vaginal ring, combined capsule, and estrogen spray can have different formulary statuses and copay tiers.
  • You can schedule VA gynecology directly. VA removed the primary-care referral requirement on December 4, 2025 and later reported that direct access had been implemented at all VA medical facilities.
  • Compounded hormones are a different lane. VA’s published draft Community Care determination classifies compounded bioidentical hormone therapy for menopause as investigational and experimental, but the document also says it is a reference for non-VA providers and does not guarantee benefits.
  • Testosterone is not a blanket “no.” VA has a narrow, off-label pathway for transdermal testosterone in carefully evaluated postmenopausal women with hypoactive sexual desire disorder. Testosterone remains a Schedule III controlled substance and requires a prescription, clinical assessment, and monitoring.
  • Coverage is national. Delivery is not consistent. That is the damaging admission, and federal auditors documented enough variation to make it impossible to dismiss.

What “VA” means here: the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and care through the Veterans Health Administration. This page is not about the state of Virginia, CHAMPVA, TRICARE, Medicare, or private insurance. Those are separate benefits with separate rules.

Best for / not for you if

This page is for you if: you are an enrolled or potentially eligible Veteran with menopause symptoms; you want to know what VA offers, what it may cost, and what to do after a blanket denial; or you are deciding whether to keep pushing through VA before paying a private menopause clinic.

This page is not for you if: you are seeking a VA disability rating for menopause, you use CHAMPVA as a spouse or dependent, or you want a website to decide whether hormone therapy is medically appropriate for you. Compensation, family-member benefits, and individual prescribing decisions require different answers.

The 30-second version

QuestionBottom line
Does VA cover HRT for menopause?Yes. VA names hormone patches, hormone pills, and vaginal estrogen among available menopause treatments.
Is it free?For many Veterans, yes. Priority group 1 pays $0 for medications, and other exemptions may apply. Everyone else pays by medication tier and days supplied.
What do common copay tiers cost in 2026?Tier 2: $8 / $16 / $24 for up to 30 / 60 / 90 days. Tier 3: $11 / $22 / $33. Medication copays stop after $700 in a calendar year.
Do VA lab tests have a copay?No. VA lists laboratory tests among services that do not require a copay. Do not assume every scan or specialty test is free; some specialty tests can carry a $50 copay.
Do I need a referral for VA gynecology?No. Enrolled women Veterans can schedule VA gynecology directly. Primary care remains another route and may be faster locally.
Does VA cover every HRT brand?No. VA formulary coverage is record- and product-specific, generally centered on the generic when one exists. Non-formulary products require a separate request.
Will VA fill an outside prescription?It depends who wrote it. An authorized VA Community Care prescriber can send routine medication to the referring VA pharmacy. A private prescription obtained outside VA authorization is not automatically filled.
Does VA cover compounded “bioidentical” hormones?Do not count on Community Care coverage. VA’s current draft determination classifies compounded bioidentical hormone therapy for menopause as investigational, experimental, and not medically necessary.
Does VA prescribe testosterone to women?In one narrow off-label lane. VA guidance addresses transdermal testosterone for postmenopausal HSDD; its testosterone-gel record is formulary with local prior authorization.

The HRT Index is the independent decision resource for online menopause and HRT care — comparing telehealth providers on clinical legitimacy, care quality, medication fit, price transparency, and access, with every claim verified and dated, so women can choose the path that fits their situation before their first consult.

The right online HRT provider isn't the same for every woman — it depends on your symptoms, your age and whether you have a uterus, your medication route preference (patch, pill, gel, or vaginal estrogen), your risk history, your insurance or cash-pay situation, and your state. Some situations belong with an in-person clinician first. Because a general answer can't resolve those for you, use The HRT Index's Find My HRT Path tool to match your situation to the right provider — and to flag when online care isn't the right starting point — before your first consult.

For Veterans, add one more question: does your VA benefit already cover the care you are about to buy? In many cases, it does.


Does the VA cover HRT for menopause in 2026?

Yes. VA’s Women Veterans Health Care program says medical treatments available through VA include a hormone patch worn on the skin, hormone pills, and vaginal estrogen. That establishes national service availability; your clinician, the exact formulary record, and your copay status determine what you personally receive and pay.

“Covered” at VA has four layers. Most confusing answers come from treating all four as one question.

Layer 1: Does VA offer menopause hormone therapy at all?

Yes. The official VA menopause page lists hormone patches, hormone pills, and vaginal estrogen among available treatments. A blanket statement that “VA does not offer HRT” conflicts with VA’s own published service description.

Layer 2: Is hormone therapy clinically appropriate for you?

That is an individual medical decision. A clinician may decide that systemic hormone therapy is not appropriate because of your symptoms, history, current conditions, medication interactions, or risk profile. That is different from saying the benefit does not exist.

The useful question is not “Will VA give everyone hormones?” It will not. The useful question is “Will VA give me a real, individualized evaluation instead of a false policy answer?” It should.

Layer 3: Is the exact medication record formulary, prior-authorized, or non-formulary?

VA uses a national formulary. The VA National Formulary dataset describes formulary products as items that must be available for prescription at all VA facilities and cannot be made non-formulary by an individual medical center or regional network.

That does not promise a requested brand, immediate shelf stock, or approval for every use. It means a national formulary item cannot be locally erased. Some records are formulary, some require local prior authorization, and some are non-formulary and require a request with clinical rationale.

Layer 4: What do you owe?

Your priority group, disability rating, income, service connection, special eligibility, medication tier, and days supplied control the answer. For many Veterans, it is $0. For a non-exempt Veteran, it may be a small tiered medication copay plus an applicable visit copay.

Keep those four layers straight and almost every contradictory answer becomes easier to diagnose.

One vocabulary note: this page uses “HRT” because that is the phrase people search. Clinicians and medical organizations often use “hormone therapy,” “menopausal hormone therapy,” or “MHT.” On this page, HRT refers to hormone therapy used for menopause—not testosterone replacement therapy for male hypogonadism.


Who can get menopause HRT through the VA?

Menopause care through VA is for Veterans who are eligible for and enrolled in VA health care. Enrollment determines whether this benefit is your door; priority group, service connection, income, and other exemptions mainly determine copays, while clinical fit and formulary rules determine treatment.

If you are already enrolled

You have three practical starting points:

  1. 1. Your VA primary care or Women’s Health team.
  2. 2. VA gynecology, which enrolled women Veterans can schedule directly.
  3. 3. Your local Women Veterans Program Manager, who can help coordinate the right service.

VA’s menopause page tells enrolled Veterans to contact their primary care provider or call the nearest VA medical center and ask for the Women Veterans Program Manager.

If you are not enrolled—or do not know whether you are eligible

Start with enrollment rather than paying privately out of frustration. Use VA’s health-care eligibility and enrollment information or call the Women Veterans Call Center at 855-829-6636.

The Women Veterans Call Center can help with enrollment information, appointments, eligibility questions, and connection to a local women’s health contact. Its published hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. ET, and Saturday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. ET.

If you are a spouse, dependent, or survivor

VA health care and CHAMPVA are not the same benefit. CHAMPVA serves certain eligible spouses, dependents, and survivors; its provider, pharmacy, deductible, and cost-share rules are covered in the benefit-door table below.


How much does HRT cost through the VA in 2026?

Priority group 1 pays no medication copays. Veterans in priority groups 2 through 8 may owe copays for non-service-connected medications unless another exemption applies. Current rates run from $0 to $33 per fill depending on tier and days supplied, and medication copays stop after $700 in a calendar year.

These are the VA copay rates effective January 1, 2026.

Medication copays

VA medication tier1–30 days31–60 days61–90 days
Tier 0 — no-copay medicines$0$0$0
Tier 1 — preferred generic prescriptions$5$10$15
Tier 2 — non-preferred generics and some over-the-counter medicines$8$16$24
Tier 3 — brand-name prescriptions$11$22$33

Do not read that table as “everyone pays.” Priority group 1 pays no medication copays. Other Veterans can qualify for free medications because of service connection, income, or other eligibility factors. The tier is the price only when a copay actually applies.

The $700 cap

Once VA has charged you $700 in medication copays during a calendar year, it stops charging medication copays for the rest of that year. The cap applies across your VA medications, not separately to menopause treatment.

Visit and test copays

Care or testCurrent rule when the care is not service-connected
Outpatient care with a service-connected disability rating of 10% or higher$0 outpatient copay
Primary care when a copay applies$15
Specialty care when a copay applies$50
Specialty test such as MRI or CT when a copay applies$50
Laboratory tests$0
X-rays and preventive tests or services$0

VA’s current page is narrower than “all testing is free”: laboratory tests, X-rays, and preventive tests or services have no copay, but specialty tests such as MRI or CT can cost $50 when a copay applies. Whether a bone-density scan is billed as a preventive service or another category depends on the circumstances; confirm it rather than assuming.

What could a common VA regimen cost for a non-exempt Veteran?

The current VA Formulary Advisor records classify both an estradiol patch and oral progesterone capsules as Tier 2.

If both were dispensed as four 90-day fills in a year and you owed the full medication copay:

  • 2 medications
  • × 4 fills each
  • × $24 per 61–90-day Tier 2 fill
  • = $192 in medication copays for approximately one year

That is arithmetic from published rates, not a quote or promise. It assumes both medications, 90-day fills, continued treatment, no tier change, and no exemption. Your actual regimen may use one medication, a different form, a different supply length, a non-formulary product, or no hormone therapy at all.

Use this VA HRT cost worksheet

  1. 1. Are you exempt from medication copays? If yes, write $0 and stop.
  2. 2. Look up each exact medication record in VA Formulary Advisor.
  3. 3. Record the tier and days supplied. Do not infer the tier from a brand name or from another dosage form.
  4. 4. Multiply the copay per fill by expected fills per year. Keep medications separate, then add them.
  5. 5. Stop at the $700 calendar-year medication cap across all VA medications.
  6. 6. Add only visit or specialty-test copays that actually apply to you. Labs are $0.

The safest actual-number question is: “Based on my priority group, exemption status, the exact drug record, and the days supplied, what will VA charge me for this prescription?”


Which hormone medications and forms are on the VA formulary?

Current VA records include formulary estradiol patches, tablets, gels, vaginal creams, vaginal tablets, vaginal rings, vaginal inserts, and oral progesterone. Other records—including an estradiol/progesterone combination capsule, estradiol spray, and estrogens vaginal cream—are non-formulary. Exact-record verification matters because similar names can lead to different statuses.

What the status codes mean

  • F — Formulary item: listed on the VA National Formulary.
  • PA-F — Local prior authorization required: on the national formulary, but local prior authorization applies.
  • NF — Non-formulary: requires a non-formulary request; approval is not guaranteed.
  • Tier 2 or Tier 3: the medication copay tier if you owe medication copays. A displayed tier on a non-formulary record does not mean the request has been approved.

The HRT Index VA Menopause Coverage Map

Record-level check completed August 27, 2026. These are drug records, not a promise that any particular treatment is appropriate for you. Open the linked record and re-check it before relying on it for an appointment or cost decision.

Medication recordRoute or formVA statusCopay tierPractical meaning
Estradiol patch — record 4027587Transdermal patchF2National formulary item; generic coverage governs where a generic exists.
Estradiol tablet — record 4001671TabletF2Formulary tablet record; verify the exact product and intended use with the prescriber.
Estradiol gel — record 4028176Topical gelF2National formulary gel record.
Estradiol spray — record 4027659Topical sprayNF3Non-formulary request required. Tier 3 does not guarantee approval.
Progesterone capsule — record 4000918Oral capsuleF2National formulary item. Whether progesterone is needed depends on the regimen and anatomy.
Estradiol/progesterone capsule — record 4038164Combined oral capsuleNF3Non-formulary request required.
Estradiol vaginal cream — record 4001670Vaginal creamF2National formulary vaginal-estrogen record.
Estradiol vaginal tablet — record 4029846Vaginal tabletF2National formulary vaginal-estrogen record.
Estradiol vaginal ring — record 4001680Vaginal ringF3Formulary, but Tier 3 if a medication copay applies.
Estradiol vaginal insert — record 4037638Vaginal insertF3Formulary, but Tier 3 if a medication copay applies.
Estrogens vaginal cream — record 4004642Vaginal creamNF3Non-formulary request required; do not assume a requested brand is covered.
Testosterone gel — record 4030472Topical gelPA-F2A narrow off-label pathway may apply for postmenopausal HSDD; local prior authorization and monitoring apply.

What this map proves—and what it does not

It proves that VA publicly exposes record-level status and copay data for these forms. It also proves why “Does VA cover estradiol?” is too broad: the patch, spray, cream, ring, insert, and combination capsule are not interchangeable formulary questions.

It does not prove that a particular dose, brand, manufacturer, adhesive, delivery system, or indication will be approved. VA states that formulary coverage is for the generic product when one exists unless a record says otherwise.

If the product you need is non-formulary

Non-formulary is not the same as impossible. It is a process:

  1. 1. Ask whether a formulary alternative meets the same clinical goal.
  2. 2. If it does not, ask the prescriber to document why.
  3. 3. The prescriber submits a non-formulary request with clinical rationale.
  4. 4. VA reviews the request and may approve or deny it.
  5. 5. Ask what the review timeline is and what you can use while it is pending.

Starting with “Is there a formulary alternative that meets the same clinical need?” keeps the conversation clinical and usually gets you to the real answer faster.


Why are many non-hormonal alternatives on VA’s $5 tier while estrogen is not?

VA’s 2026 Tier 1 preferred-generic list includes several drugs clinicians may use for hot flashes, sleep, mood, or related symptoms, while estradiol and progesterone do not appear on that $5 list. That proves a copay-classification difference—not why VA made it, how often each drug is prescribed, or whether anyone should receive one treatment instead of another.

We checked the complete 2026 VA Tier 1 medication list against common menopause-related drug names.

Medication or groupOn VA’s 2026 Tier 1 list?What that does—and does not—mean
ParoxetineYesPreferred generic copay status. It does not mean paroxetine is right for every woman or that every formulation has the same regulatory indication.
VenlafaxineYesPreferred generic copay status. The Tier 1 list does not state why a clinician may prescribe it.
GabapentinYesPreferred generic copay status. The Tier 1 list does not state why a clinician may prescribe it.
ClonidineYesPreferred generic copay status. The Tier 1 list does not state why a clinician may prescribe it.
Citalopram, escitalopram, fluoxetine, sertraline, trazodoneYesThese records appear on the Tier 1 list, but the list is not a menopause-treatment ranking.
Sildenafil, tadalafil, finasterideYesPreferred generic copay status in their listed categories. The list does not disclose why individual drugs were selected.
Estradiol patch, tablet, gel, cream, ring, or insertNoNot Tier 1. Several records are still formulary in Tier 2 or Tier 3.
Oral progesteroneNoNot Tier 1; the current oral-capsule record is formulary Tier 2.

Here is the part worth getting angry about, and the part worth keeping straight.

The receipt is real. The motive is not in the document. VA’s cheapest preferred-generic list includes multiple non-hormonal options and several drugs used in men’s sexual or urologic care, while no estradiol or progesterone record appears on it. But the list does not establish discrimination, clinical preference, prescribing frequency, or the reason for the tier decision.

And not being on Tier 1 does not mean not covered. For a Veteran who owes copays, the difference between a 30-day Tier 1 fill and a 30-day Tier 2 fill is $3. The bigger access problem is not that estradiol costs $8 instead of $5. It is being told the benefit does not exist at all.


Can I schedule VA gynecology without a referral?

Yes. On December 4, 2025, VA removed the primary-care referral requirement for enrolled women Veterans seeking VA gynecology. By March 2026, VA reported that direct scheduling had been implemented at all VA medical facilities and had already produced more than 1,000 appointments nationwide.

This is the fastest policy lever on the page.

VA’s December 4, 2025 announcement said enrolled women Veterans could schedule gynecology directly, effective immediately. VA’s March 2026 implementation update said the change had been implemented at all VA medical facilities.

What to say when you call

“I am an enrolled woman Veteran and I want to schedule directly with VA gynecology. VA removed the primary-care referral requirement on December 4, 2025. Can you schedule me or connect me with the gynecology scheduling team?”

If the scheduler cannot resolve it:

“Please connect me with the Women Veterans Program Manager for this medical center.”

You can also call the Women Veterans Call Center at 855-829-6636.

Direct gynecology is an added door, not always the fastest door

Primary care remains central to VA care and may be able to evaluate menopause symptoms sooner. Ask both teams about the earliest appropriate appointment instead of assuming the specialist route is automatically faster.

Your next move: use the VA facility locator and ask for either direct gynecology scheduling or the Women Veterans Program Manager. These are official VA routes. The HRT Index earns nothing from them.


Why was I told the VA does not offer HRT?

Because a national benefit can still be delivered unevenly. A June 2026 GAO review found major facility-level variation, unfinished standardization work, and limited reach of VA menopause education. The evidence does not prove every denial was wrong—but it does prove that a blanket “VA doesn’t do this” answer cannot be trusted without checking.

You are not imagining it.

Here is the damaging admission

VA coverage is national. Delivery is not consistent.

The Government Accountability Office’s June 2026 menopause-care report analyzed VHA data through fiscal year 2024, interviewed officials and staff at six selected facilities, and gathered Veteran perspectives through a questionnaire and discussion groups.

Among women Veterans aged 45 to 64, the percentage with hormone-therapy prescription fills ranged from 3% to 35% across VHA facilities in fiscal year 2024. That spread does not by itself prove under-prescribing or improper care; case mix, preferences, contraindications, local practice, and other factors may contribute. GAO said the variation had not been fully investigated.

GAO also reported that:

  • VHA and DoD began developing a menopause clinical practice guideline in February 2025.
  • As of April 2026, the draft was still under workgroup review.
  • On August 27, 2026, the public VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines site still listed pregnancy as its only women’s-health guideline and did not post a menopause guideline.
  • 60% of the 348 women Veterans who answered GAO’s online questionnaire said they had not encountered VHA menopause resources.
  • That questionnaire was not generalizable to all women Veterans; GAO says so plainly.
  • Staff at the six selected facilities reported access to the medications they needed, which matters: the problem GAO documented was not simply “VA has no drugs.”
  • GAO’s two recommendations remain open. VA later commented, concurred in principle with performance measurement, and concurred with a broader menopause-education strategy.

That is a more useful picture than either extreme.

VA is not a menopause-only clinic. It does not deliver this care evenly. It has not yet shown the public a finished national menopause guideline or a completed performance-measure system. A dedicated menopause clinic may offer deeper specialization and a more predictable appointment experience.

But VA can integrate your hormone treatment, pharmacy, laboratory work, imaging, primary care, and other conditions inside one record—often at a fraction of private cash cost. The inconsistency is real. It is still worth one more organized attempt to get around, because what is on the other side may be excellent care at $0 or a low copay.


What should I say at a VA menopause appointment?

Lead with symptom frequency, duration, and functional impact, then ask for an evaluation and a discussion of clinically appropriate options—including FDA-approved hormone therapy where appropriate. That gives the clinician a concrete problem to assess without turning the visit into a demand for one brand or prescription.

Use one sentence with numbers

Instead of:

“I think I’m in menopause and want hormones.”

Try:

“I have had hot flashes eight to ten times a day for fourteen months, I am waking three times a night, and it is affecting my work. I would like to be evaluated for menopause symptoms and discuss whether hormone therapy or another treatment is appropriate for me.”

The numbers are examples—replace them with yours. The structure is what matters: frequency, duration, impact, request.

Bring a two-week symptom record

Track:

  • Hot flashes and night sweats: number, timing, and severity.
  • Sleep: awakenings and total sleep.
  • What the symptoms are doing to work, concentration, driving, relationships, or daily functioning.
  • Vaginal dryness, burning, painful sex, urinary urgency, or recurrent urinary symptoms.
  • Mood changes, headaches, joint symptoms, or brain fog.
  • Current prescriptions, over-the-counter drugs, and supplements.
  • Treatments you tried, whether they helped, and why you stopped.
  • Bleeding changes, especially bleeding after menopause, which needs prompt clinical evaluation.

Send this secure message before the appointment

Subject: Request to discuss menopause symptoms and treatment options

I would like an appointment to discuss perimenopause or menopause symptoms and treatment options, including FDA-approved hormone therapy if it is clinically appropriate for me.

My main symptoms are [symptoms]. They have lasted [duration] and are affecting [sleep, work, daily function, sex, urinary comfort, or another specific area].

Please let me know whether Women’s Health primary care or gynecology is the best route, and what visit and medication copays may apply in my case.

Thank you.

A secure message creates a dated record of what you asked and gives the team a chance to route you before the visit.

Ask these three coverage questions in the room

  1. 1. Is the exact option we are discussing on the current VA National Formulary?
  2. 2. Does a Criteria for Use document, local prior authorization, or non-formulary request apply?
  3. 3. Based on my exemption status, priority group, and the drug’s tier, what should I expect to pay?

This is not a script for pressuring a clinician. You cannot argue your way into appropriate treatment, and you should not want to. It is a script for separating an individualized clinical answer from an inaccurate policy answer.


What should I do if a VA clinician or scheduler says no?

First identify what kind of “no” you received. A clinical judgment, a formulary restriction, a scheduling error, and a false blanket coverage statement require different responses. Escalating the wrong problem wastes time; naming it correctly is what gets you to the next door.

What you were toldWhat it isWhat to do next
“Hormone therapy is not medically appropriate for you.”An individualized clinical decision.Ask which risks or facts drive the decision, what alternatives exist, and whether local vaginal treatment is a separate calculation from systemic therapy. Ask about an appropriate second opinion if needed.
“VA does not offer HRT.”An inaccurate blanket policy statement.Reference VA’s menopause page, which lists patches, pills, and vaginal estrogen. Ask for Women’s Health or direct gynecology.
“We do not carry that.”A formulary or inventory question.Ask for the exact Formulary Advisor record, the formulary alternative, and whether a non-formulary request is justified.
“You need a primary-care referral for gynecology.”Outdated national scheduling information.Mention the December 4, 2025 direct-access change. Ask for gynecology scheduling or the Women Veterans Program Manager.
“You must pay privately.”Too vague to accept.Ask whether the issue is enrollment, copay, formulary status, clinical appropriateness, lack of local service, or Community Care authorization.
“We cannot see you soon enough.”A possible access-standard issue.Ask whether the 28-day specialty-care or 60-minute drive-time standard makes you eligible for Community Care.

The escalation ladder

Work down it in order. Most problems should not need every rung.

  1. 1. Ask for the reason in writing through secure messaging.
  2. 2. Ask for Women’s Health primary care or direct VA gynecology.
  3. 3. Contact the Women Veterans Program Manager. Every VA medical center has a women’s-health coordination contact.
  4. 4. Contact the Patient Advocate for a scheduling, communication, or process breakdown—not to override clinical judgment.
  5. 5. Ask whether a Clinical Resource Hub or other VA telehealth support can cover a local specialty gap. Availability varies.
  6. 6. Ask about Community Care eligibility if VA cannot provide timely or available specialty care.
  7. 7. If Community Care is denied, ask about the Clinical Appeals process. VA says the facility’s chief medical officer or designee reviews these appeals.

The goal is not to turn an appointment into a fight. The goal is to make the system name the real reason, apply the correct rule, and route you to the person who can act on it.


Will the VA fill a menopause prescription from an outside doctor?

Sometimes. Authorization is the dividing line. A VA-authorized Community Care prescriber can send routine or maintenance prescriptions to the referring VA medical facility’s pharmacy. A prescription from a private clinician you hired independently is not automatically a VA prescription and generally needs VA review and continuation inside the system.

This is the fact most likely to save you from an expensive assumption.

You may be tempted to pay a private clinic for a consultation and assume you can carry the prescription to VA for an $8 fill. Do not spend the money on that assumption.

Authorized VA Community Care

VA’s Community Care prescribing guidance says routine and maintenance prescriptions from authorized community providers must be sent to the referring VA medical facility’s pharmacy. VA now accepts electronic prescriptions from community providers, including eligible controlled-substance prescriptions, subject to applicable rules.

The medication still runs through VA formulary requirements, Criteria for Use documents, prior authorization, and non-formulary review.

Urgent or immediate-need medication

The retail-community-pharmacy pathway is for urgent or immediate needs and generally allows a short supply. The widely cited 14-day rule belongs to that urgent retail route; it is not a blanket rule saying VA can never accept a longer prescription from an authorized Community Care prescriber.

A private clinician you found and paid yourself

That prescription is outside VA authorization. A VA clinician must evaluate whether to prescribe or continue the medication inside VA, and the answer is not automatic. Bring the visit note, diagnosis, medication history, dose, response, monitoring information, and pharmacy record, then ask for a continuity-of-care review.

The money-saving rule: do not book private care on the assumption that VA will fill the resulting prescription. Confirm the handoff first.


Does the VA cover compounded bioidentical hormones or pellets?

VA’s current draft Community Care determination classifies compounded bioidentical hormone therapy for menopause as investigational, experimental, and not medically necessary. But it is a draft reference for non-VA providers and says it does not guarantee benefits, so it cannot support a final blanket ruling on every direct-VA case or every pellet.

The document is Clinical Determination and Indication 00050, “Compounded Bioidentical Hormone Therapy”, with an original effective date of September 1, 2025.

It says two things at once, and both matter:

  1. 1. Compounded bioidentical hormone therapy for menopause is considered investigational and experimental, with insufficient evidence to support safety and efficacy, and therefore not medically necessary.
  2. 2. The document is currently in draft, is intended as a reference for non-VA providers, does not replace clinical judgment, and does not guarantee benefits.

FDA-approved and compounded are not interchangeable categories

The FDA explains that compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. FDA does not verify their safety, effectiveness, or quality before marketing in the way it does for approved products.

A product can be described as “bioidentical” and still be either FDA-approved or compounded. The word does not tell you which regulatory lane you are in. Ask for the exact product, manufacturer or compounding pharmacy, approval status, and labeling.

Do not accept these substitutions in sales copy:

  • “Compounded” does not mean FDA-approved.
  • “Bioidentical” does not mean safer.
  • A compounded preparation is not equivalent to an FDA-approved product merely because a marketer compares the hormones.
  • FDA-approved estradiol or progesterone products remain FDA-approved products; that does not transfer approval to a custom compound.

What about hormone pellets?

If a menopause pellet is compounded, the compounded-product warning applies. But “pellet” is a dosage form, not enough information to prove one universal coverage rule for every product and indication.

For testosterone specifically, VA’s postmenopausal HSDD guidance does not recommend pellets. Ask VA about the exact product rather than accepting a blanket answer in either direction.

Ask these four questions before paying for a compounded product

  1. 1. Is this exact finished product FDA-approved?
  2. 2. If it is compounded, is that stated plainly before payment?
  3. 3. Why is an FDA-approved option not meeting the same clinical need?
  4. 4. What will the consultation, product, monitoring, refills, shipping, and follow-up cost over twelve months?

On a VA coverage page, the practical answer is simple: do not assume VA will pay for a compounded menopause product through Community Care.


Does the VA prescribe testosterone to women for menopause symptoms?

VA can use transdermal testosterone in one narrow, off-label situation: carefully evaluated postmenopausal women with hypoactive sexual desire disorder. There is no FDA-approved testosterone product indicated for women in the United States, VA’s testosterone-gel record requires local prior authorization, and testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance.

That is very different from “VA never prescribes testosterone to women.” It is also very different from casual online “low T” marketing.

VA Pharmacy Benefits Management published March 2025 guidance on transdermal testosterone for postmenopausal HSDD. The document says:

  • The use is off-label.
  • There are no FDA-approved testosterone products indicated for women in the United States.
  • The evidence-supported lane is postmenopausal HSDD after evaluation of other contributors.
  • Use in premenopausal women is not recommended because of insufficient evidence.
  • Use for bone density, mood, or cognition is not recommended.
  • Injectable, pellet, and oral testosterone are not recommended for this purpose.
  • Dosing and laboratory monitoring are intended to keep levels in the physiologic premenopausal female range and to watch for adverse effects.

The current testosterone-gel Formulary Advisor record is PA-F, Tier 2: a national formulary record with local prior authorization.

The DEA lists testosterone as Schedule III. That means a licensed prescriber, a valid prescription, controlled-substance compliance, clinical follow-up, and monitoring are not optional details.

What this does not mean: fatigue, brain fog, low mood, or a single laboratory number automatically qualifies someone for testosterone. VA’s pathway is diagnosis-specific and narrow.


Does the VA cover vaginal estrogen for dryness and painful sex?

Yes. VA names vaginal estrogen as a menopause treatment, and current Formulary Advisor records show formulary estradiol vaginal cream, tablet, ring, and insert options. Local low-dose vaginal therapy is clinically distinct from systemic hormone therapy, so a “no” to systemic treatment is not automatically a “no” to vaginal treatment.

Genitourinary syndrome of menopause can include vaginal dryness, burning, pain with sex, urinary urgency, and recurrent urinary symptoms. These concerns deserve to be named directly; “everything else” is too easy for an appointment to skate past.

Current VA records include:

  • Estradiol vaginal cream — formulary, Tier 2.
  • Estradiol vaginal tablet — formulary, Tier 2.
  • Estradiol vaginal ring — formulary, Tier 3.
  • Estradiol vaginal insert — formulary, Tier 3.
  • Estrogens vaginal cream — non-formulary, Tier 3.

The Menopause Society’s hormone-therapy guidance distinguishes low-dose local vaginal estrogen from systemic therapy. Local treatment produces much lower systemic exposure, but “local” does not mean no medical evaluation or no precautions.

If systemic hormone therapy was declined, ask:

“Is low-dose vaginal estrogen or another local treatment a separate option for my vaginal or urinary symptoms?”

That question is clinically legitimate. It does not ask the clinician to reverse the systemic decision.


Can VA Community Care cover menopause treatment?

Yes, when VA authorizes it and you meet an eligibility route. For specialty care, the published access standards are more than a 60-minute average drive or more than a 28-day wait. Community Care is not a self-referral benefit: authorization must come first, and routine prescriptions still route through the referring VA pharmacy.

The current VA Community Care eligibility page uses or, not “and.”

Type of careAverage drive-time standardAppointment wait-time standard
Primary care, mental health, extended outpatient careMore than 30 minutesMore than 20 days
Specialty care, including gynecologyMore than 60 minutesMore than 28 days

You may also qualify when:

  • VA does not provide the needed service.
  • You live in a location covered by a specific statutory eligibility route.
  • You and your VA clinician agree that community care is in your best medical interest.
  • VA determines the facility does not meet applicable quality standards.
  • Another eligibility provision applies to your circumstances.

Two traps to avoid

Authorization comes before the appointment. If you independently book a community clinician, VA may not pay. Get the authorization and participating provider instructions in writing.

Community Care does not erase VA pharmacy rules. Routine and maintenance prescriptions from an authorized community prescriber go to the referring VA pharmacy and remain subject to formulary, prior-authorization, Criteria for Use, and non-formulary processes.

Use this request

“My nearest available VA gynecology appointment is [number] days away, and the nearest VA facility offering the service is [number] minutes away by VA’s calculation. Do I meet the Community Care access standard, or is Community Care in my best medical interest for another reason?”

If VA denies the request, its public page says you can use the Clinical Appeals process.


VA health care, Community Care, CHAMPVA, TRICARE, or Medicare: which door is yours?

These benefits are separate. VA health care serves enrolled Veterans; VA Community Care is an authorized extension of that care; CHAMPVA serves certain eligible spouses, dependents, and survivors; TRICARE serves eligible service members, retirees, and families; and Medicare has its own drug-plan rules.

DoorWho it servesMenopause-care and prescription pathMain cost or access catch
VA health careEnrolled VeteransVA clinicians and VA pharmacy; formulary and prior-authorization rules applyCopays depend on exemption, priority group, service connection, tier, and days supplied
VA Community CareEnrolled Veterans authorized for outside careAuthorized community clinician; routine prescriptions route to referring VA pharmacyAuthorization first; Community Care does not bypass VA formulary review
CHAMPVACertain eligible spouses, dependents, and survivors—not the Veteran receiving ordinary VA health careCovered outpatient care and prescriptions through CHAMPVA rules, OptumRx network, or Meds by Mail when eligible$50 individual / $100 family annual deductible, then generally 25% of the allowable amount; $3,000 household catastrophic cap
TRICAREEligible service members, retirees, and family membersMost FDA-approved prescriptions are covered, but the exact drug may be formulary, non-formulary, or require prior authorizationSeparate Department of Defense benefit; check the exact product in TRICARE Formulary Search
MedicareEligible Medicare beneficiariesPart D or a Medicare Advantage plan with drug coverage may cover prescribed menopause medications according to the plan formularyVA and Medicare do not bill each other; compare the exact VA copay with the exact Part D or plan cost

CHAMPVA details that matter

VA’s current CHAMPVA care page says CHAMPVA covers prescriptions and most outpatient care. After the $50 individual or $100 family deductible, the standard cost share is 25% of the allowable amount, with a $3,000 household catastrophic cap. Meds by Mail can provide eligible maintenance medications at no cost when CHAMPVA is the person’s only prescription coverage.

That does not mean every exact hormone product is automatically covered. Verify the drug and pharmacy path.

TRICARE details that matter

TRICARE’s prescription-drug page says it covers most FDA-approved prescription drugs, but exact formulary status, prior authorization, and point-of-service costs vary. Use the TRICARE Formulary Search for the exact medication and form.

If you also have Medicare

VA and Medicare remain separate systems. A prescription filled by VA uses the VA benefit. A prescription filled at a non-VA pharmacy uses the applicable Medicare drug plan. Compare the exact medication, tier, pharmacy, and authorization rule rather than assuming one is cheaper.


Do I need a service-connected rating to get HRT through the VA?

No. An enrolled Veteran does not need a service-connected menopause rating to receive menopause care. Service connection and disability rating can change copays and compensation, but clinical access to VA menopause services is not limited to Veterans with a service-connected menopause claim.

Coverage and disability compensation are different systems.

  • Priority group 1 has no medication copays; VA says a 50% or higher service-connected disability rating is one route into that group.
  • A service-connected disability rating of 10% or higher eliminates outpatient copays under the current rate page.
  • Care and medications for a VA-rated service-connected condition do not require copays.
  • Other income and special-eligibility exemptions may apply even without a 50% rating.

Whether menopause itself, surgical menopause, treatment-induced menopause, or a related condition can support a disability claim is a separate evidence question. This page does not give claims advice.

For help with compensation, use a VA-accredited representative or Veterans Service Organization. Do not pay an unaccredited company to turn a medical coverage question into a claims pitch.


When does private or online menopause care make sense after VA?

Private care can make sense when you are not eligible or enrolled, have exhausted the correct VA access and escalation routes, need a menopause-focused clinician VA cannot provide in time, or choose to pay for a model outside VA. It is not automatically better, and it usually costs more than an available VA pathway.

The disclosure before the recommendation

The HRT Index earns a commission if some readers use Midi Health. We earn nothing when you receive care through VA, CHAMPVA, TRICARE, Medicare, or Elektra Health. For most enrolled Veterans who can obtain appropriate FDA-approved treatment through VA, VA is the better financial starting point. Read our full affiliate disclosure.

That is not a throwaway disclaimer. It is the recommendation.

Stay with VA if these are true

  • You are enrolled and open to an appropriate FDA-approved formulary option.
  • Cost matters.
  • You want menopause care coordinated with your complete medical record.
  • You have not tried direct gynecology, the Women Veterans Program Manager, a written request, or the Community Care question.
  • Your problem is one inaccurate first answer, not a completed VA process.

If you have not run those routes, you have not reached the end of VA. You have reached the first no.

Private care becomes reasonable when one of these is true

  1. 1. You are not eligible for or enrolled in VA health care.
  2. 2. You asked for evaluation, used direct gynecology or Women’s Health, sought coordination help, and still cannot obtain a timely appropriate appointment.
  3. 3. VA authorized no suitable Community Care route and you need a menopause-focused second opinion.
  4. 4. You knowingly choose a non-VA medication model and understand the FDA status, prescription route, pharmacy cost, monitoring plan, and lack of VA payment before you buy.
  5. 5. A specific provider’s insurance contract genuinely makes private specialty care practical for you.

Two verified private-care paths

ProviderMedication laneCurrent self-pay visit priceAvailability and insurance limitsBest for / not for
Midi HealthIts menopause page offers hormonal and non-hormonal care and markets FDA-approved HRT. Any separately offered compounded product remains a separate, non-FDA-approved category and must be labeled that way$250 initial / $150 follow-upClinical care advertised in all 50 states; in-network with most PPO plans, but exact coverage varies. Medicare beneficiaries may use self-pay but cannot submit Midi-related claims. Midi says it cannot treat Medicaid or Medi-Cal beneficiariesBest for: nationwide menopause-focused access and many PPO users. Not for: Medicaid/Medi-Cal beneficiaries; not Medicare-covered care
Elektra HealthSays it prescribes FDA-approved hormonal and non-hormonal medications and does not prescribe compounded or non-FDA-approved medications$249 initial / $149 follow-upClinical care in 16 states: AZ, CT, FL, GA, IA, IL, MA, MO, NE, NJ, NY, OH, OK, PA, TN, TX. Insurance—including Medicare or Medicaid—is plan- and state-specific, not nationwideBest for: women in a clinical-care state whose exact plan is accepted, including some Medicare/Medicaid plans. Not for: women outside its 16 clinical-care states

Prices and policies verified August 27, 2026 from Midi’s pricing and insurance page, Midi’s menopause-care page, and Elektra’s FAQ. Medication, laboratory, pharmacy, deductible, coinsurance, and copay costs may be separate unless the provider or insurer confirms otherwise.

For a nationwide, menopause-focused second opinion after the VA route is genuinely exhausted: check current Midi pricing and insurance eligibility. Sponsored link. Midi cannot treat Medicaid or Medi-Cal beneficiaries; Medicare is self-pay and not claimable.

For women in Elektra’s clinical states—especially those with a listed Medicare or Medicaid plan: verify the exact state and plan directly with Elektra Health. Editorial link; The HRT Index earns no commission.


What did The HRT Index actually verify?

This page is built from current VA service pages, the 2026 copay schedule, individual Formulary Advisor records, VA Community Care guidance, VA testosterone guidance, a VA compounded-hormone determination, and GAO’s 2026 audit. Provider prices and eligibility limits were re-checked against provider-owned pages on August 27, 2026.

Provider-stated versus verified

ClaimWhat we verifiedPrimary sourceVerified
VA offers menopause hormone therapyPatches, pills, and vaginal estrogen are named as available treatmentsVA Women Veterans Health Care menopause pageAug. 27, 2026
2026 medication and visit copaysFull tier schedule, $700 cap, outpatient rates, and no-copay lab ruleVA current copay pageAug. 27, 2026
Exact menopause-related drug recordsFormulary status and copay tier for each record in the coverage mapVA Formulary AdvisorAug. 27, 2026
National formulary structureFormulary products must be available for prescription across VA; qualifying drug entities requiring FDA premarket approval must have that approval before additionVA National Formulary dataset and FAQAug. 27, 2026
Direct gynecologyReferral requirement removed Dec. 4, 2025; VA later reported all-facility implementationVA press release and VA NewsAug. 27, 2026
Inconsistent delivery3%–35% facility range, education findings, guideline status, and open recommendations—with GAO’s methodological limits retainedGAO-26-107853 and current status pageAug. 27, 2026
Outside prescribingAuthorized Community Care e-prescribing and routine-prescription routing to VA pharmacyVA Community Care provider guidanceAug. 27, 2026
Compounded-hormone positionDraft Community Care determination, its investigational finding, and its no-guarantee disclaimerVA CDI 00050Aug. 27, 2026
Testosterone laneOff-label transdermal pathway for postmenopausal HSDD; forms not recommended; monitoringVA PBM March 2025 guidance and Formulary AdvisorAug. 27, 2026
Private fallback prices and limitsMidi $250/$150 and insurance restrictions; Elektra $249/$149, 16 clinical states, and state-specific insuranceProvider-owned pricing and FAQ pagesAug. 27, 2026

What we did not claim

  • We did not claim that every formulary record is appropriate for menopause or appropriate for you.
  • We did not claim that a formulary item guarantees a requested brand, dose, local stock, or prescription.
  • We did not convert a draft Community Care determination into a universal final VA-benefit decision.
  • We did not use public comments or testimonials as medical or policy evidence.
  • We did not publish an unlabeled retail medication-price estimate.
  • We did not claim to have enrolled in VA, obtained a prescription, called every facility, or tested a patient journey firsthand.
  • We did not fabricate a clinical reviewer, patient experience, star rating, or numeric provider score.

How this page was produced

The HRT Index Verification Standard is our documented process: read every published price, separate FDA-approved from compounded, verify state availability and insurance, and re-check on a fixed schedule—top providers monthly and the full roster quarterly.

We evaluate providers on five pillars, in this order: clinical legitimacy, care quality, medication fit, price transparency, access. We do not compress those tradeoffs into invented numeric scores.

This page should be re-verified when VA publishes a menopause clinical practice guideline, changes its annual copay schedule, revises the Tier 1 list, updates a formulary record, finalizes or withdraws CDI 00050, changes Community Care standards, or when a named private provider changes price, state availability, insurance participation, or medication policy.

This is editorial research. It is not medical advice and it is not medically reviewed by a clinician. See our medical review policy.


Frequently asked questions

Does the VA cover HRT for menopause?

Yes. VA publicly lists hormone patches, hormone pills, and vaginal estrogen among treatments available through VA for menopause. A VA clinician still decides clinical appropriateness, and exact medication access depends on the formulary record and any required approval.

How much does HRT cost through the VA?

It may cost $0. Priority group 1 has no medication copays, and other exemptions apply. When a medication copay is owed, Tier 2 costs $8, $16, or $24 and Tier 3 costs $11, $22, or $33 for up to 30, 60, or 90 days; the yearly medication-copay cap is $700.

Does the VA prescribe estrogen patches?

VA names hormone patches among its menopause treatments, and the current estradiol-patch record is a formulary Tier 2 item. That does not guarantee a particular brand, adhesive, dose, or prescription.

Does the VA cover oral progesterone?

The current progesterone oral-capsule record is formulary Tier 2. Whether progesterone belongs in your regimen depends on the treatment plan and clinical factors, including whether you have a uterus.

Does the VA cover vaginal estrogen?

Yes. VA names vaginal estrogen as a menopause treatment, and current records show formulary estradiol vaginal cream, tablet, ring, and insert options. The exact product and tier differ.

Are VA menopause labs free?

VA lists laboratory tests among services that do not require a copay. Do not extend that to every scan or specialty test; MRI and CT can carry a $50 specialty-test copay when a copay applies.

Can I see VA gynecology without a referral?

Yes. Since December 4, 2025, enrolled women Veterans can schedule directly with VA gynecology. VA reported in March 2026 that the change had been implemented at all VA medical facilities.

Will VA fill a prescription from my private doctor?

Not automatically. An authorized VA Community Care prescriber can send routine prescriptions to the referring VA pharmacy. A prescription from an independently hired private clinician requires VA review and continuation inside the VA system if a VA clinician agrees it is appropriate.

Does VA cover compounded bioidentical hormones?

VA’s current draft Community Care determination classifies compounded bioidentical hormone therapy for menopause as investigational and experimental and not medically necessary. The same document says it is a draft reference for non-VA providers and does not guarantee benefits, so the precise scope matters.

Does VA cover hormone pellets?

Do not assume it does. If a menopause pellet is compounded, it is in the non-FDA-approved compounded lane. VA’s testosterone guidance also does not recommend testosterone pellets for postmenopausal HSDD. Ask about the exact product rather than relying on the word “pellet.”

Does the VA prescribe testosterone to women?

In a narrow off-label pathway. VA guidance addresses transdermal testosterone for carefully evaluated postmenopausal women with HSDD. There is no FDA-approved testosterone product indicated for women in the United States, the gel record requires local prior authorization, and testosterone is Schedule III.

Can Community Care cover menopause treatment?

Yes, when VA authorizes it and you meet an eligibility path. For specialty care, published access standards are more than a 60-minute average drive or more than a 28-day wait. Authorization must come before the outside appointment.

Does TRICARE cover menopause prescriptions?

TRICARE covers most FDA-approved prescription drugs, but exact formulary status, prior authorization, and cost depend on the medication and pharmacy route. TRICARE is separate from VA health care.

Does CHAMPVA cover menopause care and prescriptions?

CHAMPVA covers most outpatient care and prescription medications for eligible beneficiaries. Its standard deductible and cost-share rules apply, and the exact medication should be verified through CHAMPVA’s pharmacy path.

Do I need a service-connected rating to get menopause care through VA?

No. Enrollment and clinical need open the care pathway. Service connection, disability rating, income, and other eligibility factors mainly change copays and compensation.

What is the first thing I should do after being told “VA does not offer HRT”?

Send a secure message asking for an individualized menopause evaluation, cite VA’s published menopause page, and request Women’s Health or direct gynecology. If the answer remains a blanket policy statement, contact the Women Veterans Program Manager.


One last thing

If you take nothing else from this page, take this: the benefit exists, the cost can be very low, and being told no once is not the same as the policy answer being no.

Go back with the symptom record. Ask for an evaluation. Ask for the exact formulary record and the actual copay. If the first door does not open, use direct gynecology, then the Women Veterans Program Manager, then the correct process for the problem you actually have.

You earned this one. Go use it.


Still not sure which HRT program is right for you? Take our free 60-second matching quiz.

If you are a Veteran in crisis or concerned about one, call the Veterans Crisis Line at 988 and press 1, or text 838255.

Use the right VA door before paying privately

Start with the broader prescription-access guide, compare HRT insurance coverage basics, review current HRT cost context, or use Find My HRT Path when you need help choosing the next door.