Skip to main content
The HRT Index

HRT cost

Bioidentical Hormone Therapy Cost: What You'll Pay in the First Year

Bioidentical hormone therapy cost depends mainly on whether you use FDA-approved products or compounded ones, and whether insurance pays. The flat monthly plans we checked run $69 to $199 a month, and pellets start around $350 per insertion. Visit fees, billing dates and labs change your first-year total.

The HRT Index is the independent decision resource for online menopause and HRT care — comparing telehealth providers on clinical legitimacy, care quality, medication fit, price transparency, and access, with every claim verified and dated, so women can choose the path that fits their situation before their first consult.

We may earn a commission if you start care with a provider we link to. That never changes what we report, and every price below is shown with the date we read it. How we make money.

What we actually verified · Last verified October 2026

Our commercial interest, up front: Gala Health is our main affiliate partner for FDA-approved online hormone care. We may be paid if you start care with Gala through our link. We also list options that pay us nothing, including insurance-first care.

What we read on October 26, 2026:

  • Gala's hormone-health page and its dedicated HRT page (price, what it says is included, medicines named, cancel wording).
  • Alloy's product page (monthly prices for each medicine).
  • Midi's pricing page (self-pay visit fees and insurance rules).
  • Winona's treatments page (how it labels each product).
  • The FDA's page on compounded drugs and its February 12, 2026 hormone-therapy labeling announcement.
  • The Menopause Society's and ACOG's guidance on compounded "bioidentical" hormones.

What we took from our own earlier checks (and say so in the tables): pharmacy coupon prices (July 2026), pellet prices (June 19, 2026), and the Winona, Alloy-consult and Inner Balance prices (October 2026).

What we did not do: we did not sign up, pay, talk to a clinician, or receive medicine from any company. This is a records-and-prices review, not a patient test. Prices change, and the number at your checkout is the only one that counts.

How we judge any option (our Verification Standard, in this order): 1) clinical legitimacy, 2) care quality, 3) medication fit, 4) price transparency, 5) access. Read the full methodology.

Jump to: Cost by route · First-year math · What's missing from the price · Insurance · FDA-approved vs compounded · Pellets · Gala · Other options · Ask for the all-in quote · Billing and cancelling · See someone in person first · Which route fits you · FAQ

Bioidentical hormone therapy cost by route: what each one includes

You can pay as little as about $7 to $8 a month for the estradiol tablets themselves, or as much as $199 a month for a compounded online plan, and both are called "bioidentical." The gap mostly comes from what is bundled in: the medicine, the clinician, the pharmacy, shipping and follow-up. The medicine may be a small part of the bill, which is our reading of the numbers below.

First, three plain-word definitions, because the price changes with each:

  • Bioidentical hormone: a hormone with the same chemical shape as one your body makes, such as estradiol (the main estrogen) or progesterone. Some bioidentical hormones are FDA-approved products. Others are mixed by a pharmacy. Both get called "bioidentical," which is why prices look so mixed up.
  • FDA-approved: the FDA reviewed the product's safety, how well it works, and how it is made before it was sold.
  • Compounded: a pharmacy mixes a custom product for you from a prescription. The FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, so it does not review their safety, effectiveness or quality before they are marketed.

Cost by route. Prices are list prices we read or recorded on the date shown. "Not confirmed" is not zero.

Route What you get Price we found (date, source) How you are billed Due at the start Often extra, or not confirmed
A. Prescription filled at a pharmacy with a coupon (FDA-approved generics) The medicine only. Someone must prescribe it first. Estradiol tablets, 90 count: $19.87 to $25.07 across 0.5 mg, 1 mg and 2 mg strengths. Estradiol patches: $28.46 for 4 patches (0.05 mg/day) and $35.32 for 8 patches (0.075 mg/day). Progesterone 100 mg, 30 capsules: about $9 to $32. (GoodRx coupon prices, our July 2026 check, GoodRx page updated August 2026; not re-fetched October 26) Per fill at the pharmacy One fill The visit to get the prescription, labs. How long a patch pack lasts depends on whether yours is changed once or twice a week.
B. Online plan, flat monthly price, FDA-approved forms Gala says: online review by a clinician, the prescription, shipping and follow-up messaging in one price Gala: $69 a month, "flat, forever," advertised (Gala pages, October 26, 2026) Monthly, per Gala's page. The exact day-count is not stated. $69 if charged at sign-up, per Gala's refund policy. Confirm at checkout. Which medicines are in the one price. Whether labs are covered if ordered. Your state.
C. Online, each medicine priced separately A prescription review plus medicines shipped. Alloy describes its menopause options as FDA-approved; confirm each product. Alloy: estradiol pill from $39.99, gel $69.99, spray $69.99, patch $100.00, progesterone from $23, each a 1-month supply (Alloy product page, October 26, 2026). Alloy consult: $49 (our October 2026 check; not visible on the page we read October 26). Per supply, per medicine $49 consult plus first fills (confirm) Follow-up visits, labs. How often each medicine is billed.
D. Insurance-based visits, then a regular pharmacy Clinic visits billed to your plan. Medicine at your pharmacy. Midi: $250 first visit and $150 follow-up if you pay yourself. In-network with most PPO plans (Midi pricing page, October 26, 2026). Per visit, plus per fill Your copay (insured) or $250 (self-pay) Your copay and deductible. Medicare is out of network with Midi. Medicaid and Medi-Cal not accepted.
E. Online, compounded creams or capsules A custom product from a compounding pharmacy plus clinician care Winona combined cream: $89 a month (our October 12, 2026 check). Inner Balance Oestra: $199 a month for six months, then $99.50 (our October 2026 check, compounded). Monthly The first month Whether the exact product is compounded (ask). Labs. Plan changes.
F. Pellets placed under the skin by a clinic A small procedure, repeated every 3 to 6 months $350 to about $600 per insertion, median $375 (HRT Index price sample, June 19, 2026) Per insertion The first insertion Consult fee, labs, follow-up visits. These are compounded.

What to take from this table: FDA-approved routes (A through D) can be a few dollars a month for the medicine, or tens to a hundred dollars a month with care bundled in. The compounded routes (E and F) cost more per month in what we found, and they sit in a different safety category that we explain further down.

Why the ranges you see online are so far apart

You may have seen one price guide saying most women pay "between $100 and $500 per month" and $1,200 to $4,500 in the first year (MyHormoneGuide, May 2026). We can't check those numbers, and they blend routes that are not alike: a $25 pharmacy fill and a $2,000 pellet year cannot be averaged into one honest number. That is why we split costs by route and date every figure.

Another reason prices look random: the same word covers different products. A woman asking about "bioidentical hormones" might mean a $7-a-month generic estradiol tablet. Another might mean a $599 pellet procedure. Both are fair uses of the word. They are not the same purchase.

The right online menopause care isn't the same for every woman — it depends on your symptoms, what you've already tried, your age, your state and your health history. Some situations belong with an in-person clinician first. Use The HRT Index's Find My HRT Path tool to explore a featured care option for your situation — and to flag when online care isn't the right starting point — before your first consult.

It's free, takes about 60 seconds and doesn't ask for your email. It doesn't diagnose anything, decide whether you should take hormones, or write a prescription. A clinician does that. We may earn a commission from the providers it features, and that affects which ones appear. Your answers stay in your browser.

What does the first year really cost? Same woman, six routes

For a woman who needs estrogen and progesterone, the first 12 months of FDA-approved care can total anywhere from about $190 to about $1,525 in our examples. Compounded plans and pellets ran from about $1,050 to $2,400. These are list-price sums, not quotes.

Here is our example reader. She has a uterus, so a clinician would likely want her to take progesterone along with estrogen. (Estrogen alone can overgrow the uterine lining, so progesterone protects it. The Menopause Society notes that when progesterone is too low, you are not protected against endometrial, or uterine lining, cancer.) We priced one estrogen and one progesterone per route. Your own medicines, doses and billing may differ.

First 90 days and first 12 months, by route (our arithmetic on the list prices above; the date of each price is in the table before)

Route Due at the start First 90 days First 12 months How we got it What's not counted
A. Pharmacy generics (you already have a prescription) $28.87 to $57.07 for the first fills $46.87 to $121.07 $187.48 to $484.28 Low: 0.5 mg estradiol at $19.87 per 90 tablets plus progesterone at $9 a month. High: $25.07 per 90 tablets plus $32 a month. Estradiol is bought once every 90 days (1 fill in 90 days, 4 in a year). The visit to get the prescription. Labs. Taxes.
B. Gala, as advertised $69 (if charged at sign-up) $207 if billed monthly, or $276 if billed every 28 days $828 monthly (12 charges), $897 every 30 days (13), or $966 every 28 days (14) $69 × the number of charges. A 28-day cycle starting on day 1 has charges on days 1, 29, 57 and 85, so four in 90 days. Labs if ordered. Whether one price covers both medicines.
C1. Alloy pill + progesterone About $112 (if both ship at once; confirm) $237.97 $804.88 $49 + 3 × ($39.99 + $23) = $237.97. $49 + 12 × $62.99 = $804.88. Follow-ups. Labs. Any change of medicine.
C2. Alloy patch + progesterone About $172 (confirm) $418 $1,525 $49 + 3 × ($100 + $23) = $418. $49 + 12 × $123 = $1,525. Follow-ups. Labs.
D. Midi self-pay + pharmacy $250 $446.87 to $521.07 $587.48 to $884.28 $250 + $150 = $400 for two visits, plus the pharmacy range from route A. The 12-month total assumes only those two visits all year. More follow-ups. Labs. If you're insured, your copay replaces the $250 and $150, and we can't price that for you.
E1. Winona combined cream $89 $267 $1,068 $89 × 3 and $89 × 12. The Winona visit and any labs (not confirmed). The price needs a re-read before you buy.
E2. Inner Balance Oestra $199 $597 $1,791 3 × $199 = $597. 6 × $199 + 6 × $99.50 = $1,194 + $597 = $1,791. Labs. Whether the visit is included.
F. Pellets $350 to $600 One insertion: $350 to $600 (median $375) 3 insertions: $1,050 to $1,800 (median $1,125). 4 insertions: $1,400 to $2,400 (median $1,500). Insertion price × the number of visits. Clinics that publish enough to rebuild a year show about $1,350 to $2,400. Consults, labs, follow-ups, extra insertions if the schedule changes.

Some things this table shows, in plain words:

  1. The medicine can be the smallest part of the bill. The generic route runs about $190 to $480 for the year in our example, and that is before any visit. Online plans add a clinician, shipping and follow-up. Some women will gladly pay for that. Others already have a prescriber and will not need to.
  2. Billing days matter. Gala's $69 can become $828 or $966 in a year depending on whether you are billed monthly or every 28 days. The difference is $138 and it is all in the calendar. Ask which one applies.
  3. Alloy's patch is the priciest line on Alloy's list. At $100 for a one-month supply, it costs more than Gala's $69 flat plan, which Gala says includes the clinician review. But Gala has not said which patch strengths are in its plan. See the Gala section for that.
  4. Pellets are not a monthly bill. Three to four insertions a year can feel cheap per month and expensive at the register.

Want the same math with your own numbers? Use our HRT cost calculator or the longer HRT cost guide.

What's missing from the price tag?

A price tag usually shows the medicine or the monthly plan, and it can leave out the visit, labs, and refill timing. A fair comparison puts every cost in the same table: first period, repeat cost, and what you pay today.

Three numbers to separate, for any quote:

  • First period: what the first billing cycle costs, including a new-patient visit.
  • Recurring cost: what each later cycle costs, and how often it repeats.
  • Amount due now: what is charged the moment you press "start" or "continue." This can be lower or higher than the first period.

Common extras:

Extra What we found Who pays
Labs (blood tests) Gala says labs are usually not needed and are ordered "only when they actually change the plan." It does not say who pays. Midi, Alloy and pharmacies each have their own policy. Not confirmed for Gala. Ask.
Liver tests with some non-hormonal pills If you and a clinician choose fezolinetant (brand name Veozah, a non-hormone pill for hot flashes), the FDA label calls for liver blood tests before you start, every month for the first three months, and at months 6 and 9. Not confirmed for any provider we checked. See our Veozah cost page.
Follow-up visits Midi charges $150 per follow-up if you pay yourself. Gala says ongoing messaging and dose changes are included. Check each.
Shipping Gala says free 1 to 2 day delivery. Alloy's page we read lists prices for 1-month supplies; shipping terms were not on the page we read. Check at checkout.
Taxes and pharmacy fees Not stated on any page we read. Check at checkout.
Medicine changes Gala says no price rise when your dose changes. Others bill per medicine. Ask.

Unknown does not mean free. We write "not confirmed" in the table so you know to ask before you pay.

Does insurance change the cost of bioidentical hormones?

Yes. For FDA-approved hormones, insurance can cut the medicine to a small copay. For compounded products and most pellets it often does not help. Plans differ, so your own plan's drug list decides.

If you have insurance with drug coverage, common FDA-approved generics such as estradiol tablets, estradiol patches and progesterone capsules are often on plan drug lists (called a formulary). Whether yours covers them, what the copay is, and whether you need prior approval (an extra step where the plan reviews the request first) depends on your plan. Call the number on your card and ask about each medicine by name.

Midi's page says it is in-network with most PPO plans, which means your plan can be billed for the visit. Medicare is out of network there, though Medicare members can still pay as self-pay patients. Midi says it does not accept Medicaid or Medi-Cal. Your deductible and copay can still apply. See what we found in Midi's cost review and our guide to online HRT providers that accept insurance.

If you pay cash, a flat plan like Gala's removes the surprise of a visit bill. It can also cost more per year than a coupon-priced generic filled with a prescription you already have. Both can be right for different women.

If a product is compounded, many plans do not cover it. We keep a page on what we found: does insurance cover compounded hormones? If a claim gets denied, start with what to do if insurance denies HRT.

HSA and FSA cards: Gala shows an "FSA & HSA accepted" badge. Alloy and Midi say they accept HSA and FSA. Whether your card works for a specific product is up to your plan administrator, so keep an itemized receipt. See which online HRT providers accept HSA and FSA.

Why FDA-approved and compounded hormones cost different things

An FDA-approved estradiol or progesterone product and a compounded one can both be called bioidentical, but they are not the same kind of purchase. The Menopause Society says custom-compounded hormones are not safer or more effective than approved bioidentical hormones. The FDA does not review compounded drugs for safety, effectiveness or quality before they are sold.

This is the part of the price that does not show up on a receipt.

What the main medical groups say:

  • The Menopause Society (2022 position statement): FDA-approved bioidentical hormones include estradiol, estrone and micronized progesterone. They are regulated for purity and effectiveness and come with package inserts. Compounded versions raise safety concerns, including uneven dosing, impurities and no label of risks. The group says patient preference alone should not be the reason to choose a compounded product, and that compounded options could be considered for things like an ingredient allergy or a dose that approved products do not offer.
  • ACOG (the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 2023): compounded bioidentical menopausal hormone therapy should not be prescribed routinely when FDA-approved forms exist. ACOG says many compounding pharmacies use "bioidentical" as a marketing term.
  • The FDA: "Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. This means the agency does not review their safety, effectiveness or quality before they are marketed." The FDA also says compounded drugs can meet an important medical need for some patients.
  • Hormone testing to set doses: The Menopause Society calls saliva and urine hormone testing used to set doses unreliable.

What this means for cost: if a compounded plan costs more than an FDA-approved one, you are not paying extra for a safer product. We can't tell you why a given company charges what it does. We can tell you that a higher price on a compounded product is not evidence of better quality.

What this does not mean: it does not mean every compounded product is dangerous or that your clinician is wrong to suggest one. Some women need a form that approved products do not offer. If that is you, ask your clinician to name the medical reason and to put it in your record. Our page on bioidentical vs compounded HRT goes deeper, and is bioidentical HRT FDA-approved? lists the approved products by name.

A note on labels: in February 2026 the FDA approved labeling changes for six menopausal hormone products, removing certain risk statements (cardiovascular disease, breast cancer and probable dementia) from the boxed warning, which is the FDA's most prominent warning. That update covers the FDA-approved products it names. It is not a statement about compounded products. Whether any hormone is right for you is a conversation with your clinician.

How much do hormone pellets cost, and why are they different?

Pellets cost about $350 to $600 per insertion in the prices we sampled, with a median of $375, and a new insertion is usually needed every 3 to 6 months. They are compounded, so they sit in the same FDA category as the creams above, not the approved patches and pills.

A hormone pellet is a small pellet of hormone placed just under the skin in a short procedure. It then releases hormone slowly. The menopause pellets in the clinics we sampled are compounded. The Menopause Society lists pellets among the "nonstandard or untested routes" used with compounded hormones.

What we found (HRT Index price sample, June 19, 2026):

Item What we found Unit Unknowns
Per insertion $350 to about $600; median $375 Per visit, cash Consult fee, labs, follow-up visits, whether testosterone and estradiol cost differently
How often About every 3 to 6 months Per year: 2 to 4 insertions Your schedule is set by the clinic
First-year totals we could rebuild from clinics that publish enough About $1,350 to $2,400 First 12 months This is a small sample, not a national average
Insurance Usually cash-pay n/a Plans decide; ask

Our math: 3 insertions at $350 is $1,050. 3 at $600 is $1,800. 4 at $375 (the median) is $1,500. Divided by 12 months, $1,500 is $125 a month.

Testosterone note. Many pellets contain testosterone. In the United States, no testosterone product is FDA-approved for women, so prescribing it to a woman for menopause symptoms is off-label (the medicine is being used for something other than its labeled use). Testosterone is also a Schedule III controlled substance, which means a prescription is required and the law limits how it is handled. Major consensus statements say compounded testosterone is not recommended. This page is not dosing advice. If a clinic offers testosterone, ask which exact product is used, whether it is FDA-approved or compounded, and what blood tests are required. See are testosterone pellets FDA-approved? and testosterone cost without insurance. Our full pellet price sample is on hormone pellet therapy cost.

Gala HRT: what its $69 tells you, and what it doesn't

Gala advertises hormone therapy at $69 a month on two of its own pages. It says the price covers the online clinician review, the prescription and shipping, and that the price does not rise when your dose changes. A clinician decides whether you get a prescription, and the pages leave a few questions open.

What Gala says (we read its pages on October 26, 2026):

  • Price: "Hormone Therapy at $69/month — flat, forever." Gala says there is no membership fee and no insurance to deal with. Its hormone-health page says "Menopause treatment from $69/month — all included, no insurance needed."
  • Medicines: Gala says it prescribes FDA-approved bioidentical forms: an estradiol pill or patch, oral or vaginal progesterone, and vaginal estradiol. It also lists non-hormonal options.
  • Process: a short online assessment (Gala says about five minutes), then a clinician review (Gala says usually within one day). In some states Gala says you must have a short video visit first.
  • Labs: Gala says "usually not." Labs are ordered "only when they actually change the plan."
  • States: "most US states." If Gala cannot serve your state, it says you won't be charged. It does not publish a list.
  • Cancel: its HRT page says you can "pause or cancel anytime from your account."

What is not settled:

Question Why it matters for your cost
Is the $69 one medicine or all your medicines? If you need estrogen and progesterone, you could be paying for two. Gala has not said.
Which patch strengths are in the plan? Patches are the most flexible form for many women, and the plan's page does not list strengths.
How often are you billed? Monthly gives 12 charges and $828 in a year. Every 28 days gives 14 charges and $966.
Is your card charged before the clinician decides? Gala's refund policy says you are charged at intake. Its other pages talk about "if approved."
What does cancelling require? Gala's HRT page says cancel anytime. The refund policy says a request must reach Gala at least 72 hours before your billing date.
Does the refund policy apply to HRT? The policy and terms we read are titled for Gala's weight-loss program. Whether they apply to HRT is not confirmed.
Who pays for labs, if some are ordered? Not stated.
Is the price the same everywhere? Gala's hormone-health page shows its price line to some visitors only, based on how the page is built, so you may see none. Our Gala review notes that other sites reported $79 in July 2026.

How we'd read it: $69 is a real, written offer from Gala today. It is also marketing copy, and it came with open questions. A woman who wants FDA-approved hormones, pays cash, is comfortable with message-based care and has no red-flag history (see below) may find it a simple, predictable option. A woman with a prescription already, or with good insurance, may pay less elsewhere.

Two questions to ask before you pay Gala:

  1. "What is the exact name of each medicine in my plan, and is it FDA-approved?"
  2. "What am I charged today, on what dates will I be charged after that, and how do I cancel?"

Take a screenshot of the price and the cancel wording on the day you buy. For the full review, see Gala Health HRT reviews.

Other ways to pay for bioidentical hormones

If Gala isn't the right fit, you have four other common routes, and one of them probably is. Each costs different things at different times. We list the prices we have, with their dates.

Option Best fit Price we found What to ask
Alloy (cost review) Cash-pay readers who want FDA-approved forms priced one by one Pill from $39.99, gel $69.99, spray $69.99, patch $100, progesterone from $23, per 1-month supply (October 26, 2026). $49 consult (October 2026 check). How often each item is billed, and whether the $49 repeats.
Midi (cost review) Readers with PPO insurance who want visits billed to their plan $250 first visit and $150 follow-up self-pay (October 26, 2026) Is your plan in-network? What is your copay and deductible?
Winona Readers who want a cream or an all-in-one program and are ok with compounded Combined cream $89 a month (October 12, 2026). Its treatments page labels its creams and pills "Compounded." Which exact product is in my plan? Is it FDA-approved or compounded?
Inner Balance (Oestra cost) Readers set on a compounded product $199 a month for six months, then $99.50 (October 2026 check; compounded) What happens to the price after six months? What does it include?
Your own prescriber + pharmacy Readers who already have a clinician Route A: about $190 to $480 a year for the medicines in our example, plus your visit Does my plan cover it? Can the pharmacy match a coupon?

For side-by-side reviews, see Gala vs Alloy, Gala vs Midi and Midi vs Alloy vs Winona vs Evernow. For a full list of options with a bioidentical focus, see best bioidentical HRT providers online and, for creams, best compounded HRT providers online.

If your main need is vaginal dryness, local vaginal estrogen is a low-dose option, and pharmacy cash prices we recorded were about $33 to $37 for a 42.5 g cream tube (July 2026 check). See cheapest vaginal estrogen without insurance and vaginal estrogen. If hormones are not right for you, see non-hormonal options.

Ask for the all-in quote

The most useful thing you can do before you pay anyone is ask for the cost in writing, for the first period, the recurring cost and the amount due now. These 12 questions cover most of what we've seen go wrong.

Copy these into an email or a chat with the clinic or company:

  1. Exact product: "What is the exact name and strength of each medicine in my plan?"
  2. Regulatory status: "Is each one FDA-approved, or compounded?"
  3. Due now: "What will my card be charged today?"
  4. First period: "What is my total for the first billing cycle, including the new-patient visit?"
  5. Recurring: "What is charged each cycle after that, and every how many days?"
  6. Billing dates: "On what dates will I be charged in my first 90 days?"
  7. Both medicines: "If I need estrogen and progesterone, are they one price or two?"
  8. Visits: "Are follow-up visits included? If not, what do they cost?"
  9. Labs: "Will I need labs, who orders them, and who pays?"
  10. Shipping and fees: "Are there shipping, pharmacy or processing fees?"
  11. Changes and cancelling: "If my dose or medicine changes, does the price change? How do I cancel, and how far ahead?"
  12. Refund: "If I'm not prescribed anything, what do I get back?"

A static worksheet you can fill in on paper. Make three columns, one for each quote you have. For each, write:

Line Quote 1 Quote 2 Quote 3
Amount due today
Visit fee (first)
Visit fees (later)
Medicine 1: name, strength, price, how often
Medicine 2: name, strength, price, how often
Labs
Shipping or fees
Days between charges
Number of charges in 90 days (90 ÷ days between charges, rounded up when a charge falls on day 1)
First 90 days total
12-month total (365 ÷ days between charges, same rule)
Unknowns (write "?" — do not write $0)

A worked example. A company says $69 and does not say how often it bills. If it bills every 28 days starting today, you are charged on days 1, 29, 57 and 85, which is 4 charges and $276 in 90 days. If it bills monthly, it is 3 charges and $207. That gap is why the "days between charges" line matters.

Quote checker

Compare up to three written quotes

Works in your browser only. Nothing you type is saved, sent or tracked. Leave a box blank if it does not apply; tick Unknown if the company has not told you.

Quote 1
First charge on day 1?
Medicine or plan line 1

How billing and cancelling can change your total

Subscription billing can quietly add or remove whole charges from your year, so ask about the billing interval and the cancel deadline before you pay. Gala's refund policy has a 72-hour deadline that is easy to miss.

  • Interval: a 28-day cycle bills 13 or 14 times a year. A calendar month bills 12. On a $69 plan, that is $897 or $966 against $828.
  • Cancel deadlines: Gala's refund policy says your cancel request must reach it at least 72 hours before your billing date. Its HRT landing page says you can cancel anytime from your account. Ask which applies.
  • Refunds: Gala's refund policy says refunds are not offered except in a medical disqualification. It also says you are charged at intake. Both are in a policy written for a different program, so check how it applies to you.
  • Pauses: Gala's HRT page says you can pause or cancel. We did not see how pauses affect billing.
  • Taking a screenshot: take one of the price, the billing statement and the cancel instructions on the day you buy.

Who should see an in-person clinician first?

Some health situations belong with an in-person clinician before you buy any online plan, whatever the price. A cost page cannot sort that out for you, and no price is a good reason to skip it.

Talk to an in-person clinician first if you:

  • have unexplained vaginal bleeding;
  • have ever had a blood clot, stroke or heart attack;
  • have had breast or uterine (endometrial) cancer, or have been told to avoid estrogen;
  • are pregnant, breastfeeding, or trying to conceive;
  • are under 35, since a clinician may want to look for other causes of symptoms first.

That list is not a diagnosis, and it is not complete. It is where we'd start the conversation. Find My HRT Path gives guidance only, instead of a provider, if you are under 35, pregnant or breastfeeding, trying to conceive, or have unexplained bleeding. It marks a history of cancer, clots, stroke or heart attack as a situation that needs a careful, clinician-led option. See HRT benefits and risks for the evidence behind the risks.

Which cost route fits you?

Match your situation to a route first, then compare prices inside it. If more than one line fits you, start with the first one that does.

If this is you Your first route Why
You have insurance with drug coverage and prefer FDA-approved products Your plan: your own clinician, or an in-network option such as Midi. Pharmacy generics. Your copay may be far below any cash plan. Check the drug list.
You pay cash, want FDA-approved forms, and are comfortable with message-based care Gala or Alloy. Gala is flat and bundled; Alloy prices each medicine. Predictable cost, no insurance needed. Ask both billing questions.
You already have a prescription A pharmacy with a coupon Route A is the lowest cost in our table.
You were told you need a form that approved products do not offer A clinician who will put the medical reason in your record The Menopause Society says that is the case in which compounded products could be considered.
You are leaning toward pellets Read our pellet page, ask the all-in quote questions, and talk to a clinician about the FDA-approved and compounded difference first Pellets are compounded and are billed per insertion.
You are under 40, have a complicated history, or can't tell which route fits Find My HRT Path It is built to sort this, and to flag when online care isn't the right start.

Find the route that fits you

Cost is only half of the choice. The other half is your age, your state, what you've tried and your health history. Find My HRT Path asks five questions, takes about 60 seconds, is free and does not ask for your email. It points you to a featured online option or to guidance, including when an in-person clinician should come first. It does not diagnose, write a prescription or give you a treatment plan.

Frequently asked questions about bioidentical hormone therapy cost

How much does bioidentical hormone therapy cost per month?

It depends on the route. For FDA-approved generics at a pharmacy, the medicine can be as little as about $7 to $8 a month for estradiol tablets and about $9 to $32 for progesterone with coupons (July 2026). Gala advertises a flat $69 a month. Compounded plans we found ran $89 to $199 a month. Pellets are billed per insertion.

How much does bioidentical hormone therapy cost per year?

In our worked example, FDA-approved routes totaled about $190 to $1,525 in the first 12 months, and compounded plans and pellets ran about $1,050 to $2,400. These are sums of list prices, not quotes. Your total changes with visit fees, billing dates and labs.

Is bioidentical hormone therapy covered by insurance?

Sometimes. Plans often cover common FDA-approved generics, but copays and rules vary by plan. Many plans do not cover compounded products or pellets. Call your plan and ask about each medicine by name. See does insurance cover HRT for menopause?

Why is compounded bioidentical hormone therapy more expensive?

We can't say why any one company charges what it does. In the prices we found, compounded routes cost more per month than FDA-approved ones. A higher price is not evidence of better quality. The Menopause Society says custom-compounded hormones are not safer or more effective than approved bioidentical hormones.

Is Gala's $69 price real?

Gala shows $69 a month on its own pages as of October 26, 2026. It is advertised, not guaranteed. We could not confirm which medicines it covers, how often you are billed, or who pays for labs. Other sites reported $79 in July 2026, per our Gala review. Check the price on your checkout screen.

How much do hormone pellets cost?

About $350 to $600 per insertion in our June 19, 2026 sample, with a median of $375. Insertions are usually needed every 3 to 6 months. Pellets are compounded.

Is bioidentical hormone therapy cheaper than regular HRT?

"Bioidentical" and "regular" overlap. Some FDA-approved estradiol and progesterone products are bioidentical, and they can be inexpensive as generics. Compounded bioidentical products cost more per month in what we found. The word does not tell you the price.

Can I use my HSA or FSA for bioidentical hormones?

Gala, Alloy and Midi each say they accept HSA or FSA. Your plan administrator decides what counts. Keep an itemized receipt. See HSA and FSA options.

Does Medicare cover bioidentical hormone therapy?

It depends on the plan and the medicine. Midi says Medicare is out of network there, though Medicare members may pay out of pocket as self-pay patients. For other providers, ask your plan.

What's the cheapest way to get FDA-approved bioidentical hormones?

In our table, the lowest-cost route is a coupon-priced generic filled with a prescription you already have, about $190 to $480 for the year in our example. If you don't have a prescriber, you also have to pay for a visit. See cheapest estradiol patch without insurance and cheapest progesterone without insurance.

Do I need blood tests, and who pays?

The Menopause Society says blood hormone testing is rarely needed. Gala says labs are usually not needed. Some medicines, such as fezolinetant, do call for liver tests per the FDA label. Ask who orders them and who pays.

How do I know if the product is compounded?

Ask for the exact name and say, "Is it FDA-approved, or compounded?" Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. A written answer is best. If a provider cannot say, that is a signal to slow down.

What should I do first if I'm unsure which route is right?

Start with the situation, not the price. Our free Find My HRT Path takes about 60 seconds and flags when an in-person clinician should come first.

How we checked this page, and its limits

This is editorial research and is not medical advice. It is not medically reviewed (medical review policy). Hormone therapy is not right for everyone, and a clinician who knows your history should decide what you take. If we get something wrong, tell us.

Limits:

  • Totals are our arithmetic on list prices. They are not quotes, and they leave out taxes and any fee a provider does not list.
  • Pharmacy coupon prices come from our July 2026 check and GoodRx's August 2026 listings. We could not re-open GoodRx on October 26.
  • Winona, Alloy-consult and Inner Balance prices come from our October 2026 checks and we did not re-read them on October 26.
  • Pellet prices come from the clinics that publish prices. They are not a national average.
  • We list standard prices. Intro offers and promo codes are not counted.
  • We did not test any provider as a patient.

Sources (read October 26, 2026 unless noted):

Questions about our process: methodology, editorial standards, affiliate disclosure and meet the editorial team.

Keep reading: